Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Questions from a new player about Tau in a 40k escalation league.
Old 20 Jan 2008, 02:06   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default Questions from a new player about Tau in a 40k escalation league.

Hello everyone,
I will be the only Tau player in a 40k escalation league that starts here soon. I am very new to 40k and Tau and was wandering how the Tau stand up at 500pts. I know there will be like 26 other armies 3 nid, 5 necron, 4 orc, 1 good DE player, Rest are like SM of some sort so far. oh and no ones is playing IG yet. The league will start at 500pts and go to 2000 pts with an Apoc game at the end of the league. I do know that the 1st mission is a take and hold of some sort with loot counters added in.
Well here is what I was thinking of running at the 500pt level standard force org....be nice this is my !st list on my own.

My idea is to atk/counter atk (JSJ) with suits and lay down fire support with Broadside and guard broadside with Fire warriors the piranha has the fill the gaps/antitank role because of the mobility.

HQ: Shas'el with- BC/PR/MT 83pts
E: Battle suit with- BC/PR/HWTL/TA 73pts
E: Battle suit with- BC/PR/HWTL/TA 73pts
T:6X Fire warriors with pulse rifles 60pts
T:6X Fire warriors with pulse rifles 60pts
FA: Piranha with FB/TA 70pts
HVY: Broadside with TL-Rail/SMS/A.S.S. 80pts

total 499 pts
Will this for one be able to hold up to the other armies in the league, and/or is it a good idea to run this way at 500 pt level. Would it be more in my favor to run more FW's or like a HQ, 2 units of fw's in a devil fish's and a hammer head?
Well thank you for any help.....Pastie

Oh by the way the Tau collection that I have right now is:

10 Battle suit/broadsides
1 Piranha
3 hammerhead/devil fish
3 stealth suit
about 30 drones (markers/shld/gun)
10 kroot
49 firewarriors
22 pathfinders