Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Devilfish question
Reply
Old 15 Jan 2008, 16:24   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Torontonia, Canadia
Posts: 79
Default Devilfish question

I know that a Devilfish is a dedicated transport. But here's my example.

I field 2 squads of 12 FWs. One w/ a 'fish, and one w/o. Can I use that 'fish to transport the second squad once I've dropped the first squad?
Lord Roke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Jan 2008, 16:25   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: HULL- UK
Posts: 5,130
Send a message via MSN to Dezart Fox
Default Re: Devilfish question

Nope, transports can only transport the squad they were bought for (and joined IC)
__________________


Dezart Fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Jan 2008, 16:46   #3 (permalink)
Kai
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manchester - UK
Posts: 666
Default Re: Devilfish question

Why mention that you know the DF is a dedicated transport if you don't understand what being a dedicated transport implies (which is precisely that 'no, it can't do this&#39?

Being a dedicated transport means that the transport can only be used to carry the squad it is assigned too.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by †Methelas†
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kai
Quote:
Originally Posted by †Methelas†
The Titan is not a human, therefore has no genitals!
My subtle diagram disagrees with you.
your "subtle" diagram contains Optimus Prime and Proffessor Farnsworth, it's heresy in it's own right!
Any similarities between your reality and mine are purely coincidental...
Kai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Jan 2008, 16:48   #4 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Torontonia, Canadia
Posts: 79
Default Re: Devilfish question

Not to push the issue ... or add a landslide of 'what ifs' ...

Squad A + 'fish get into combat and only Squad A is destroyed (either shot or CC'ed) and the 'fish flies out of harms reach.

Can the 'fish be used then to transport another FW squad or its just a moble gunship only?

The reason I ask is b/c I want to have a clear understanding of the rules before I do something extremely foolish in friendlies and tournaments.
Lord Roke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Jan 2008, 17:05   #5 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9,814
Default Re: Devilfish question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Roke
Not to push the issue ... or add a landslide of 'what ifs' ...

Squad A + 'fish get into combat and only Squad A is destroyed (either shot or CC'ed) and the 'fish flies out of harms reach.

Can the 'fish be used then to transport another FW squad or its just a moble gunship only?

The reason I ask is b/c I want to have a clear understanding of the rules before I do something extremely foolish in friendlies and tournaments.
Nope, it can't transport others.
__________________


Seventh Sanctum signature oddities.
Alignment: Neutral Pessimistic
Area of Magical Study: Practical Chronomancy
Favorite Spells: Divine Spell of the Cotton Candy Golem and Field of Bacon.

Proud supporter of Joe Wood!

Makes this your one good deed a day.
http://www.thehungersite.com/
enderwiggin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Jan 2008, 17:08   #6 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 81
Default Re: Devilfish question

yeah this can get confusing if your new, when i first started to me dedicated transport meant that it was dedicating to transporting troops, not necessarily dedicated to a certain unit. When you get down to the nitty gritty you would need to have a specific fish for each squad of FWs you want hauled around. Even if Squad A dies it can not pick up Squad B. It has to do with Insurance Premiums.
darkane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Jan 2008, 22:37   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,958
Default Re: Devilfish question

When I first started playing, I tried to convince people that a devilfish could be a non-dedicated transport if you gave it its own force-org slot. Didn't work.

It's an unfortunate rule, and an unbendable one. I find it particularly frustrating when I seem to have an easy time fitting 2 squads of fire warriors but only 1 devilfish into my 1500 point lists! Sometimes I just run it that way, with one of the squads static.
knightperson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Jan 2008, 09:12   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: England
Posts: 189
Send a message via MSN to ShasO KVor
Default Re: Devilfish question

Of course, this all changes in 5th edition, where the transport has to be deployed with the unit to which they were assigned, but can then leave the unit and transport any other infantry units.

Excellent! I'm very happy about this rule change. Makes much more sense.
ShasO KVor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Jan 2008, 17:35   #9 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Posts: 8
Default Re: Devilfish question

only Ork Speed Freaks transports can carry other squads
Gatorfan83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Jan 2008, 17:38   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,295
Default Re: Devilfish question

Gaaaaarrr The next person who asks if a Devilfish can carry more than one unit should get an instant ban :P
Vendak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Devilfish and Fw Question Shas0 K0Vash Tau 27 08 Dec 2009 23:19
Devilfish question - where are the SMS? Pentekont Tau 4 17 Sep 2009 16:08
Question about Devilfish BKZer0 Tau 19 08 May 2009 16:59
Devilfish question Omen Tau 17 01 Apr 2006 10:17
devilfish question kfc-v-lot Painting 6 24 Dec 2005 22:20