Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Charging a Pined Enemy
Reply
Old 31 Dec 2007, 16:29   #1 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minesota, USA
Posts: 490
Default Charging a Pined Enemy

Is there any advantage in charging a pinned enemy? I looked through the rulebook and all I could fined was that units can't be pinned when in HTH.
__________________
"May the Tau'va Guide Us, The Ethereals Bless Us and the Emperor of Mankind Protect Us!" Battle prayer of the Ethereal Guard of Dal'yth.

Thirty Seconds to Mars - Kings and Queens; Theme song of the Gue'vesa.
Fate13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Dec 2007, 16:33   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 671
Default Re: Charging a Pined Enemy

If you first pin them, and then charges them the pinning will stop as the pinned unit gets up from ground the face the assault
SkullzD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Dec 2007, 18:13   #3 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 98
Default Re: Charging a Pined Enemy

Um, question... <insert raised hand here> Why charge a pinned enemy? We're Tau. We don't do the barbaric hand-to-hand stuff. Save that for the Kroot and the Gue'la (aren't they kinda the same thing?) Fall back out of their charge range and shoot them up.

-Sightline
Murphy's Laws of Combat Ops: If your attack is going really well, it's an ambush.
Sightline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Dec 2007, 18:25   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 892
Default Re: Charging a Pined Enemy

It always amuses me to see threads with their subjects spelled wrong: a pined enemy? heheheh

As for pinning and being charged SkullzD is correct - the pinned enemy suffers no penalty when charged. Actually, charging a pinned enemy is, in effect, giving them a "get out of pin free" card.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Col.Angus
I picture the Ethereal looking out the window of the Devilfish from his seat: "Hey this isn't the way to Applebee's?! Where are you guys taking...Aw man, a battle?! Aw, you guys are total dicks, I swear! I'm still wearing my bathrobe! Can I at least have a gun? What do you mean you don't have any extra? What should I do, hit Khorne Berzerkers with my symbol of office? Man, you're gonna be sorry if I die... dicks."
Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Dec 2007, 18:32   #5 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minesota, USA
Posts: 490
Default Re: Charging a Pined Enemy

Ok, I was just trying to figure out if I pinned an enemy with sniper drones, then charged with kroot, if the kroot would gain any advantage, like an initiative bonus for attacking someone who is duck and covering.
__________________
"May the Tau'va Guide Us, The Ethereals Bless Us and the Emperor of Mankind Protect Us!" Battle prayer of the Ethereal Guard of Dal'yth.

Thirty Seconds to Mars - Kings and Queens; Theme song of the Gue'vesa.
Fate13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Dec 2007, 19:07   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 622
Send a message via AIM to Nuke
Default Re: Charging a Pined Enemy

While it would actually make a lot of sense for that to happen, it doesn't happen. There is no benefit to charging a pinned enemy, unfortunately.
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words, but a well-constructed sentence is worth a thousand pictures" -Use spell check, it's there for a reason.

"He who opens a school door, closes a prison." -Victor Hugo
Nuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 Jan 2008, 01:00   #7 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 95
Default Re: Charging a Pined Enemy

I thought pinned opponents get only one attack, I might be incorrect thinking about 3rd edition, not sure
robidark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 Jan 2008, 13:20   #8 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 20
Default Re: Charging a Pined Enemy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elliott
It always amuses me to see threads with their subjects spelled wrong: a pined enemy? heheheh

As for pinning and being charged SkullzD is correct - the pinned enemy suffers no penalty when charged. Actually, charging a pinned enemy is, in effect, giving them a "get out of pin free" card.
That "get out of pin free" is that a kinda pin card???

By the way i agree with

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sightline
Um, question... <insert raised hand here> Why charge a pinned enemy? We're Tau. We don't do the barbaric hand-to-hand stuff. Save that for the Kroot and the Gue'la (aren't they kinda the same thing?) Fall back out of their charge range and shoot them up.

-Sightline
Murphy's Laws of Combat Ops: If your attack is going really well, it's an ambush.
if u charge with our Fire Warriors or an a different shas.
only charge with Kroot or don't charge.
__________________
I am dutch and 12 years old
got-to-kil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The changeling and charging JeZuZ Forces of Chaos 2 20 Feb 2009 15:57
Charging a Pined Enemy Fate13 Tau 0 31 Dec 2007 16:15
Charging with Crisis macboy_geoff Tau 3 22 Oct 2007 18:11
Charging up a hill Gramlin House Rules 20 17 Nov 2006 16:11
question on charging The Dragon Reborn Forces of Chaos 13 07 Apr 2005 00:35