Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

EMP Grenades vs. Dreadnought
Reply
Old 30 Dec 2007, 00:13   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 709
Default EMP Grenades vs. Dreadnought

I was playing in a torunament today, and my Firewarriors charged a Dreadnaught. My opponent claimed that I didn't get a charge bobus for using grenades. There was no equipment/special rules/etc. in use. Is this true? I don't have my rulebook with me and the moment to check.
__________________
I'm the fiend, the hero, the monster, and the saint all rolled in one. You can call me The Guy.
Malcaor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Dec 2007, 00:27   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,815
Default Re: EMP Grenades vs. Dreadnought

This is true, its on pg. 72 of the rule book. You get no charge bonus when using grenades.
Dangerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Dec 2007, 01:20   #3 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 7,755
Send a message via MSN to Yaifrog
Default Re: EMP Grenades vs. Dreadnought

In fact, any model using a grenade against a vehicle only gets one attack.
Yaifrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Dec 2007, 01:21   #4 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: HULL- UK
Posts: 5,130
Send a message via MSN to Dezart Fox
Default Re: EMP Grenades vs. Dreadnought

and against a dread you hit on 6's unless its immobilized, i think..
__________________


Dezart Fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Dec 2007, 01:27   #5 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 7,755
Send a message via MSN to Yaifrog
Default Re: EMP Grenades vs. Dreadnought

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timjim
and against a dread you hit on 6's unless its immobilized, i think..
No, that's a skimmer moving fast. Regular vehicles are usually a 4+, unless they haven't moved, in which case it's an automatic hit.
Yaifrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Dec 2007, 01:32   #6 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: HULL- UK
Posts: 5,130
Send a message via MSN to Dezart Fox
Default Re: EMP Grenades vs. Dreadnought

I thought it was because it was a walker? read the walkers i n assault bit if you have your rule book hand, i don't right now.. but i'm sure it is.. though i haven't played for quite a while..
__________________


Dezart Fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Dec 2007, 01:34   #7 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,807
Default Re: EMP Grenades vs. Dreadnought

There's a reason walkers have Weapon Skill :P.

Roll to hit like you would against normal models with WS... I think there used to be a rule about hitting rear armour on 6's but that (I think) was revoked, and it's irrelevant to EMP's anyway.
AuinMyrrath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Dec 2007, 01:35   #8 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: England
Posts: 407
Default Re: EMP Grenades vs. Dreadnought

And does the EMP throw count as an attack?
__________________
The only Blackfish Games Club member who isn't a Tau Online moderator/Admin
Red Cadre
SDFarsight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Dec 2007, 01:43   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sayville, NY
Posts: 722
Send a message via AIM to xShaperx
Default Re: EMP Grenades vs. Dreadnought

Works the same way -any- other grenade works vs a vehicle. You get one attack per model with the grenades.

Also, what were you doing assaulting a dreadnought? I hope they were Gue'Vesa and not Shas'la. That would be sad ; ;
__________________
I love the smell of promethium in the morning

Shas'ui Kel'shan Mont'au Mal'caor: The Terror Spider of Kel'shan

www.myspace.com/nathanhotdog
xShaperx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Dec 2007, 01:52   #10 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,807
Default Re: EMP Grenades vs. Dreadnought

Quote:
Originally Posted by xShaperx
Also, what were you doing assaulting a dreadnought? I hope they were Gue'Vesa and not Shas'la. That would be sad ; ;
Dreadnought swings in with two attacks. Kills two Fire Warriors.

Fire Warriors attack back with 6/8/10/12 EMP Grenades, landing 3/4/5/6 hits and scoring 1.5/2/2.5/3 Glancing hits.

Next phase, the same thing happens.

Contrast to a Space Marine Sergeant/Chaos Marine Champion with a Power Fist - makes four attacks, landing two and scoring one Glancing Hit. In future assault phases he only gets three attacks, while the rate of attrition (lost Space Marines/Chaos Marines) is pretty similar.

That EMP charge is much more potent than you'd think.

Edit - and about lost shooting potential - next turn the Dreadnought would probably have charged them, after chewing them with the Assault Cannon... and sometimes there's nothing left to shoot at :funny:.
AuinMyrrath is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
H: Metal Venerable Dreadnought W:Plastic Dreadnought Ultra_17 Marketplace - Buy Sell Trade 10 12 May 2008 14:32
SM Dreadnought to CSM Dreadnought [PIC HEAVY] Bubgum Showcase 11 23 Feb 2008 21:57
SM dreadnought into CSM dreadnought (PIC HEAVY) Lex Conversion 5 26 Jan 2008 06:54
Tau Grenades ACE666 Tau 35 17 Feb 2007 04:59
emp grenades vs. haywire grenades Shaso Rama Tau 7 01 Mar 2005 18:09