Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

shaper armor save...
Reply
Old 26 Dec 2007, 04:16   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 81
Default shaper armor save...

i got into this debate with a friend of mine, when you get a shaper in your carnivore squad, is his armor save included in his cost, or do you have to put out one point for it? i argued that is pure insanity. but he says with the way the rule reads, he is right. what do you guys think? ???
darkane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Dec 2007, 04:22   #2 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: dundee
Posts: 353
Default Re: shaper armor save...

dont have my dex too hand but im pretty sure you have too pay for it
__________________
[img width=750 height=192]http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a11/mr-bong/lvbcopy.jpg[/img]
lord von braken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 Dec 2007, 06:11   #3 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,193
Default Re: shaper armor save...

Look at the shapers stat line. He comes with the armour save as standard. If a shaper is included then the ordinary kroot can buy armour but the shaper can't as he already comes equipped.
shaso_montyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Dec 2007, 14:12   #4 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 22
Default Re: shaper armor save...

If you read the line in the dex, it clearly states that "the members of the squad" can buy 6+ armor saves for 1 point each. Not "the members who don't already have it." This is why I read it as everyone pays 1 point, even though the shaper already has it.
__________________
Making Army Builder Tau Lists easier to create since 2003
If you use Army Builder, post bugs here
Shi_Vral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Dec 2007, 17:03   #5 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ont Canada
Posts: 19
Default Re: shaper armor save...

I think that you don't need to pay for the shaper's armor save because he already has one anyway. I mean why would you have to pay for it if he already has it?
Tau Du lath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Dec 2007, 17:22   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Under Your Bed
Posts: 188
Send a message via MSN to F3AR
Default Re: shaper armor save...

It's definatly in the stat line. He gets a 6+ save and if you have him members that dont have one already (like carnivores) may buy them at 1 point per model.
Check to make sure you don't have the old codex. I believe the old one may you pay for the 6+ save.
__________________
Battle-rep
W-L-D
"Deffwing": 15-5-3
Deathwing: 9-5-3
F3AR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Dec 2007, 23:13   #7 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
The Orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,208
Default Re: shaper armor save...

It says member may acquire a 6+ save by buying it. The shaper has no need to acquire a 6+ save as he already has it (included in his stat line), therefore he does not need to buy it.

Your friend is just trying to be stupid with a RAW reading, explain to him that it's just a game so stop trying to be an ass. Their's far more silly things in the game if you want to go by RAW, like how terminators don't have terminator armor or how aun'shi isn't really an ethereal.
__________________
The Orange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Dec 2007, 23:43   #8 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,933
Default Re: shaper armor save...

pay the point darns it!

So cheap to argue over a 1 pt deal
pepsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Dec 2007, 00:34   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,815
Default Re: shaper armor save...

Since the shaper has the save in his stat line and it states in the codex "...members may acquire a 6+ (how can you go higher than 6 :P) Armour Save at a cost of 1 point per model." (GW, 2005).
If he wants to go by RAW editing, the 'acquire' term stipulates that the armour save is gained when you don't have it. The shaper already has it in his stat line so therefore he does not have to acquire it.

Cheers and Happy New Year,
Dangerman
Dangerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Toughness VS Armor Save HiveFleetGoliath Forces of Chaos 8 15 Jan 2010 17:40
Instant Death vs. Armor Save BeserkWolf General 40K 13 19 Dec 2008 02:03
2+ armor save for crisis or stealth unit... (day late and a dollar short) Jedibean Tau 5 24 Sep 2008 02:10
kroot master shaper and shaper messyart Conversion 12 04 Mar 2008 01:45
Kroot Shaper In Power Armor GreyDeath Conversion 27 12 Apr 2006 02:44