Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Question Regarding: Airbursting Fragmentation Projector.
Reply
Old 25 Dec 2007, 15:25   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dk
Posts: 36
Send a message via MSN to Primo
Default Question Regarding: Airbursting Fragmentation Projector.

Greetings!

After reading through the main rulebook for the 5000th time or so, I remembered the thing about Ordanance Barrage Weapons, causing Pinning with a -1 Modifier, now question is:

Is this weapon, AFP, an Ordanance Barrage Weapon, or simply a Barrage Weapon? Thus only caussing pinning with no aditional modifier.
__________________
Stats from After January 2008:

4 Massacres
5 Solid
2 Minor
1 Draw
0 Losses

Armies Played:
Tyranid, Chaos, Space Marines, Necrons, Daemon Hunters.
Primo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Dec 2007, 15:51   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gatineau (Québec) Canada
Posts: 6,212
Send a message via MSN to Boneguard Send a message via Yahoo to Boneguard
Default Re: Question Regarding: Airbursting Fragmentation Projector.

It is not an ordenance weapon (otherwise it would have been clearly identify as such in the codex), that much I recall.

As for the rest I don't have my codex handy at the moment. So not sure if it's consider Barrage and cause pinning.
__________________
For the Greater Good!
For Ksi'm'yen and the 76th Moracre Light Armoured Guard

I Invite you to join my collective story and to add to it.

My ascension to GODHOOD
Boneguard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Dec 2007, 15:58   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Aarhus
Posts: 197
Default Re: Question Regarding: Airbursting Fragmentation Projector.

The AFP (airbursting fragmentation projector) is neither ordnance or barage, and thus doesnt cause pinning. Its "just" Assault, Large Template, and no coversave...
__________________
Ninja Tau games
Games: 2
Victories: 1 vs Tyranid, 1 vs IG
Draws: 0
Defeats: 0
Abemad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Dec 2007, 16:24   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: England
Posts: 2,731
Default Re: Question Regarding: Airbursting Fragmentation Projector.

Do you need to do guess range for AFP or do you just roll to hit
__________________
This is a great community, thanks a million skylight!
Shas vre Tau kais is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Dec 2007, 17:11   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sayville, NY
Posts: 722
Send a message via AIM to xShaperx
Default Re: Question Regarding: Airbursting Fragmentation Projector.

Well the way 'Guess' works now, you select a unit you think is within the G18", check if it is within the 18, and if it is, you roll scatter. If its out of range, you waste the shot.

I've used the AFP before v Orks, it was effective but left something to be wanted. At only STR4, I was only wounding on 4+, and that was after scatter, so I only caught a few boyz in the blast.
__________________
I love the smell of promethium in the morning

Shas'ui Kel'shan Mont'au Mal'caor: The Terror Spider of Kel'shan

www.myspace.com/nathanhotdog
xShaperx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Dec 2007, 17:36   #6 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Warrensburg, MO
Posts: 403
Send a message via AIM to TimberwolfCY Send a message via MSN to TimberwolfCY Send a message via Yahoo to TimberwolfCY
Default Re: Question Regarding: Airbursting Fragmentation Projector.

I am pretty sure it is considered a Barrage weapon, as it is Guess, and the way to use Guess weapon is described under the Barrage rules exactly. Thus, I think it does inflict a Pinning test, but I don't think it's Ordnance as others have said, just Large Blast.
__________________
"They got ded big shooty gunz dat'll kill tons of boyz, but if yer can get near em den you've got a chance. Just gotta make sure you bring loads of boyz, coz you ain't gonna have a whole lot left when you get close enough to crump em." - Warloard Skarmork, The Great Despoiler
TimberwolfCY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Dec 2007, 17:55   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sayville, NY
Posts: 722
Send a message via AIM to xShaperx
Default Re: Question Regarding: Airbursting Fragmentation Projector.

Negative.

Barrage is a special rule applying to some weapons (mainly Guess or Indirect Fire), in which case it'll say so under the notes/special rules of the weapon. Imperial Guard have Mortar teams which count as Barrage when fired together, and I'm pretty sure artillery pieces have similar rules. Special rules like Melta, Pinning, Barrage, etc. are all noted in the weapons entry on the summary page, or are indicated otherwise with an asterisk.

__________________
I love the smell of promethium in the morning

Shas'ui Kel'shan Mont'au Mal'caor: The Terror Spider of Kel'shan

www.myspace.com/nathanhotdog
xShaperx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Dec 2007, 20:16   #8 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dk
Posts: 36
Send a message via MSN to Primo
Default Re: Question Regarding: Airbursting Fragmentation Projector.

Thanks for the many answers, I suppose I will have to wait untill I can get into the GW store, which wont be before early next year, if it indeed can cause Pinning, it will be quite alot more useful altogether, and if not, then it's still great.

The G on its weapon, should make it a Barrage weapon, as that is what all barrage weapons has, also stated in the rulebook.

I've only used it a few times, though it always seems to get its points back with ease, and thats without the pinning rule, as I hadnt given it a thought it before now. The "Large Blast" and same str/ap as bolters, with that quite fancy ignore cover really makes it good for many, many things which could otherwise be a pain (Such as Eldar Pathfinders). And still doing so at a distance, without having to jump right in in their face, just as you do with flamers!
__________________
Stats from After January 2008:

4 Massacres
5 Solid
2 Minor
1 Draw
0 Losses

Armies Played:
Tyranid, Chaos, Space Marines, Necrons, Daemon Hunters.
Primo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Dec 2007, 20:45   #9 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: On the Midnight Ocean
Posts: 26,404
Send a message via MSN to Wargamer
Default Re: Question Regarding: Airbursting Fragmentation Projector.

If it does not say "Barrage", it is not a Barrage weapon. Simple as that.
__________________
Farewell, Kangaroo Joe, you shall not be forgotten.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"Wargamer is never wrong, Frodo Baggins; he knows precisely the rules he means to."
Wargamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Dec 2007, 21:51   #10 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: VA
Posts: 89
Default Re: Question Regarding: Airbursting Fragmentation Projector.

just becaue all barrage weapons are guess, does not mean that all guess weapons are barrage
Gamekanik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Airbursting Fragmentation Projector Vypra Tau 2 03 May 2010 22:20
Airbursting Fragmentation Projector range Oggy Tau 4 19 Oct 2009 10:38
The Airbursting Fragmentation Projector Yaifrog Tau 23 24 Aug 2007 10:49
airbursting fragmentation projector Sharoch Tau 26 21 Jun 2007 01:58
Airbursting Fragmentation Projector ThatGuy Tau 23 28 Sep 2006 08:03