Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Drone Questions
Old 16 Dec 2007, 23:30   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default Drone Questions

I'm relatively new to 40k and I'm trying to fully grasp how drones affect units.

1. An HQ battlesuit with 2 drones becomes a unit and is no longer an IC, right?
2. If an HQ has 2 drones and 1 drone dies, does that trigger a morale check from 25% casualties?
3. I seem to recall that, somewhere, the 40k rulebook said that you're supposed to use the "average" save for mixed-save units. Am I making that up? Is the whole point of shield drones, then, to give a single battlesuit their average save of 4+ invulnerable?
4. If you give your HQ battlesuit the drone controller wargear, are the gained drones basically free, or do you have to pay 12 points each as per the gun drones under Fast Attack?
gregariousamsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Dec 2007, 00:22   #2 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper

Default Re: Drone Questions

I only know the answer to one of your questions for certain, so here. 4. These drones cost the amount shown in the battlesuit wargear section of the codex, and are not free.

[size=smaller]Edit: Don't post point costs, it is not allowed (see Forum Rules). - .mace[/size]
Old 17 Dec 2007, 02:07   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Vre

1) You're Correct
2) I think they do, but when both die the HQ doesn't have to take last man standing tests as it reverts to being an IC.
3) Shield Drones have the same toughness and save as what they're attached to so the majority is the same as the crisis. But the shots have to be distributed evenly across the unit so only 2/3 shots will get an invulnerable. Thankfully 3 Low AP shots are rare-ish and a normal enemy squad won't be able to force a wound onto the Crisis. The other drones don't change toughness and save so their stats become the majority so the Crisis looses some of its durability.
Korill is offline   Reply With Quote