Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Drone Questions
Reply
Old 16 Dec 2007, 23:30   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
Default Drone Questions

I'm relatively new to 40k and I'm trying to fully grasp how drones affect units.

1. An HQ battlesuit with 2 drones becomes a unit and is no longer an IC, right?
2. If an HQ has 2 drones and 1 drone dies, does that trigger a morale check from 25% casualties?
3. I seem to recall that, somewhere, the 40k rulebook said that you're supposed to use the "average" save for mixed-save units. Am I making that up? Is the whole point of shield drones, then, to give a single battlesuit their average save of 4+ invulnerable?
4. If you give your HQ battlesuit the drone controller wargear, are the gained drones basically free, or do you have to pay 12 points each as per the gun drones under Fast Attack?
gregariousamsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Dec 2007, 00:22   #2 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 34
Default Re: Drone Questions

I only know the answer to one of your questions for certain, so here. 4. These drones cost the amount shown in the battlesuit wargear section of the codex, and are not free.

[size=smaller]Edit: Don't post point costs, it is not allowed (see Forum Rules). - .mace[/size]
__________________
Zachinator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Dec 2007, 02:07   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: Drone Questions

1) You're Correct
2) I think they do, but when both die the HQ doesn't have to take last man standing tests as it reverts to being an IC.
3) Shield Drones have the same toughness and save as what they're attached to so the majority is the same as the crisis. But the shots have to be distributed evenly across the unit so only 2/3 shots will get an invulnerable. Thankfully 3 Low AP shots are rare-ish and a normal enemy squad won't be able to force a wound onto the Crisis. The other drones don't change toughness and save so their stats become the majority so the Crisis looses some of its durability.
Korill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Dec 2007, 14:05   #4 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 35
Default Re: Drone Questions

1 Yes
2 Drones count for 25% causality's, as well as to determine if it is a scoring unit
3 what Korill said
4 Gun Drones use the costs from the Battlesuit wargear list.
__________________
"Expendability : Kirk, Spock, McCoy, and ensign Ricky beam down to the planet, Guess who's not coming back?"

I Lost.
C4nnonfodder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Dec 2007, 14:16   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: York
Posts: 201
Default Re: Drone Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by gregariousamsa
I'm relatively new to 40k and I'm trying to fully grasp how drones affect units.

1. An HQ battlesuit with 2 drones becomes a unit and is no longer an IC, right?
No your wrong, he is still an IC (despite what the others have said), he is still an IC but he can be targeted if he is the nearest unit (usually IC's cannot be targeted if they are not the closest unit). Other than that one difference the HQ XV8 is still an IC and follows ALL the rules for an IC. This includes fighting as an IC in assaults, which means his Drones cannot take wounds for him. The XV8 HQ and Drones can also join and leave other units exactly as per an IC
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregariousamsa
2. If an HQ has 2 drones and 1 drone dies, does that trigger a morale check from 25% casualties?
Yeah this is correct, however if both Drones are destroyed the HQ does not take last man standing tests.
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregariousamsa
3. I seem to recall that, somewhere, the 40k rulebook said that you're supposed to use the "average" save for mixed-save units. Am I making that up? Is the whole point of shield drones, then, to give a single battlesuit their average save of 4+ invulnerable?
The Drones invulnerables can only be utilised by the Shield Drones.
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregariousamsa
4. If you give your HQ battlesuit the drone controller wargear, are the gained drones basically free, or do you have to pay 12 points each as per the gun drones under Fast Attack?
No the Drones have to be purchsed from the wargear list and they are cheaper than the Gun Drones in the fast attack section.
Rikimaru1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Dec 2007, 18:40   #6 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 8,194
Send a message via AIM to Vash113 Send a message via Yahoo to Vash113
Default Re: Drone Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by gregariousamsa
I'm relatively new to 40k and I'm trying to fully grasp how drones affect units.

1. An HQ battlesuit with 2 drones becomes a unit and is no longer an IC, right?
I'm very surprised by the lack of knowledge on this subject. The Tau Commander does NOT lose his IC status. He/she is still an IC in every way, they just count as an IC that is attatched to a unit, they form a unit with the drones and can thus be targeted. The only difference is that they cannot leave the drones and with the drones the character can still join or leave other squads as well. Except for Shadowsun who is notably limited in that aspect. However should the drones die the Commander immediately becomes untargetable if not the clossest unit, and even with the drones the commander still has those strange cc rules and everything else.

Quote:
2. If an HQ has 2 drones and 1 drone dies, does that trigger a morale check from 25% casualties?
Yes.

Quote:
3. I seem to recall that, somewhere, the 40k rulebook said that you're supposed to use the "average" save for mixed-save units. Am I making that up? Is the whole point of shield drones, then, to give a single battlesuit their average save of 4+ invulnerable?
No that is majority toughness and used to be a problem in the old dex with shield drones. You don't use the average save. The only time saves are important is with mixed saves. Which is in your rulebook.

Quote:
4. If you give your HQ battlesuit the drone controller wargear, are the gained drones basically free, or do you have to pay 12 points each as per the gun drones under Fast Attack?
No, you pay for them from the armoury, not the drone entry in the army list.

All of these questions can easily be answered by reading either your codex or the rulebook or both and all can be found exactly where one thinks they would be. Check the descriptions of the wargear in the codex for information on drones, and the information in the Commander entry. Mixed Armor Saves has a section all to itself in the rulebook and the index is very useful for finding such things. Also the wargear descriptions say that drones count for morale as well so again right in your codex. Before you post online with a question make sure to search your rulebook and codex first. That will answer most questions you have.
__________________



Vash113 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drone questions BillTheBody Guest Board 3 13 Aug 2009 13:18
Even more sniper drone questions Zachinator Tau 12 14 Jan 2008 15:58
Some Drone-Related questions. OmikronAlpha Tau 23 14 Nov 2006 23:17
a few vehicle gun drone questions fallen668 Tau 10 30 Aug 2006 18:10
Sniper Drone Teams- Questions. Vegetable-Shinobi Tau 4 16 Apr 2006 00:25