Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online (http://forums.tauonline.org/)
-   Tau (http://forums.tauonline.org/tau/)
-   -   Drone Questions (http://forums.tauonline.org/tau/48228-drone-questions.html)

gregariousamsa 16 Dec 2007 23:30

Drone Questions
 
I'm relatively new to 40k and I'm trying to fully grasp how drones affect units.

1. An HQ battlesuit with 2 drones becomes a unit and is no longer an IC, right?
2. If an HQ has 2 drones and 1 drone dies, does that trigger a morale check from 25% casualties?
3. I seem to recall that, somewhere, the 40k rulebook said that you're supposed to use the "average" save for mixed-save units. Am I making that up? Is the whole point of shield drones, then, to give a single battlesuit their average save of 4+ invulnerable?
4. If you give your HQ battlesuit the drone controller wargear, are the gained drones basically free, or do you have to pay 12 points each as per the gun drones under Fast Attack?

Zachinator 17 Dec 2007 00:22

Re: Drone Questions
 
I only know the answer to one of your questions for certain, so here. 4. These drones cost the amount shown in the battlesuit wargear section of the codex, and are not free.

[size=smaller]Edit: Don't post point costs, it is not allowed (see Forum Rules). - .mace[/size]

Korill 17 Dec 2007 02:07

Re: Drone Questions
 
1) You're Correct
2) I think they do, but when both die the HQ doesn't have to take last man standing tests as it reverts to being an IC.
3) Shield Drones have the same toughness and save as what they're attached to so the majority is the same as the crisis. But the shots have to be distributed evenly across the unit so only 2/3 shots will get an invulnerable. Thankfully 3 Low AP shots are rare-ish and a normal enemy squad won't be able to force a wound onto the Crisis. The other drones don't change toughness and save so their stats become the majority so the Crisis looses some of its durability.

C4nnonfodder 17 Dec 2007 14:05

Re: Drone Questions
 
1 Yes
2 Drones count for 25% causality's, as well as to determine if it is a scoring unit
3 what Korill said
4 Gun Drones use the costs from the Battlesuit wargear list.

Rikimaru1 17 Dec 2007 14:16

Re: Drone Questions
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by gregariousamsa
I'm relatively new to 40k and I'm trying to fully grasp how drones affect units.

1. An HQ battlesuit with 2 drones becomes a unit and is no longer an IC, right?

No your wrong, he is still an IC (despite what the others have said), he is still an IC but he can be targeted if he is the nearest unit (usually IC's cannot be targeted if they are not the closest unit). Other than that one difference the HQ XV8 is still an IC and follows ALL the rules for an IC. This includes fighting as an IC in assaults, which means his Drones cannot take wounds for him. The XV8 HQ and Drones can also join and leave other units exactly as per an IC
Quote:

Originally Posted by gregariousamsa
2. If an HQ has 2 drones and 1 drone dies, does that trigger a morale check from 25% casualties?

Yeah this is correct, however if both Drones are destroyed the HQ does not take last man standing tests.
Quote:

Originally Posted by gregariousamsa
3. I seem to recall that, somewhere, the 40k rulebook said that you're supposed to use the "average" save for mixed-save units. Am I making that up? Is the whole point of shield drones, then, to give a single battlesuit their average save of 4+ invulnerable?

The Drones invulnerables can only be utilised by the Shield Drones.
Quote:

Originally Posted by gregariousamsa
4. If you give your HQ battlesuit the drone controller wargear, are the gained drones basically free, or do you have to pay 12 points each as per the gun drones under Fast Attack?

No the Drones have to be purchsed from the wargear list and they are cheaper than the Gun Drones in the fast attack section.

Vash113 17 Dec 2007 18:40

Re: Drone Questions
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by gregariousamsa
I'm relatively new to 40k and I'm trying to fully grasp how drones affect units.

1. An HQ battlesuit with 2 drones becomes a unit and is no longer an IC, right?

I'm very surprised by the lack of knowledge on this subject. The Tau Commander does NOT lose his IC status. He/she is still an IC in every way, they just count as an IC that is attatched to a unit, they form a unit with the drones and can thus be targeted. The only difference is that they cannot leave the drones and with the drones the character can still join or leave other squads as well. Except for Shadowsun who is notably limited in that aspect. However should the drones die the Commander immediately becomes untargetable if not the clossest unit, and even with the drones the commander still has those strange cc rules and everything else.

Quote:

2. If an HQ has 2 drones and 1 drone dies, does that trigger a morale check from 25% casualties?
Yes.

Quote:

3. I seem to recall that, somewhere, the 40k rulebook said that you're supposed to use the "average" save for mixed-save units. Am I making that up? Is the whole point of shield drones, then, to give a single battlesuit their average save of 4+ invulnerable?
No that is majority toughness and used to be a problem in the old dex with shield drones. You don't use the average save. The only time saves are important is with mixed saves. Which is in your rulebook.

Quote:

4. If you give your HQ battlesuit the drone controller wargear, are the gained drones basically free, or do you have to pay 12 points each as per the gun drones under Fast Attack?
No, you pay for them from the armoury, not the drone entry in the army list.

All of these questions can easily be answered by reading either your codex or the rulebook or both and all can be found exactly where one thinks they would be. Check the descriptions of the wargear in the codex for information on drones, and the information in the Commander entry. Mixed Armor Saves has a section all to itself in the rulebook and the index is very useful for finding such things. Also the wargear descriptions say that drones count for morale as well so again right in your codex. Before you post online with a question make sure to search your rulebook and codex first. That will answer most questions you have.


All times are GMT. The time now is 17:59.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
TauOnline.org is completely unofficial and is in no way endorsed by Games Workshop Limited.


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366