Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online (http://forums.tauonline.org/)
-   Tau (http://forums.tauonline.org/tau/)
-   -   Pathfinder scout Move (http://forums.tauonline.org/tau/48217-pathfinder-scout-move.html)

Eetion 16 Dec 2007 18:33

Pathfinder scout Move
 
A unit of Pathfinders is loaded in a devil fish, at the start of the game during the scout move, the fish moves and pathfinders unload from the back of the transport.
Come turn 1 do the pathfinders count as moving for the purposes of firing heavy weapons (markerlights)?

Commander_Vimes 16 Dec 2007 18:38

Re: Pathfinder scout Move
 
The Pathfinder Devilfish does not have Scout. So Pathfinders cannot use the Devilfish to make Scout moves.

Boneguard 16 Dec 2007 18:41

Re: Pathfinder scout Move
 
You got it wrong...somewhat.

The Scout move only applies to the pathfinder, not the devilfish. In the exemple you gave with the pathfinder in the devilfish it is impossible to take the scout move. (I direct you to the errata (first question top left column): http://uk.games-workshop.com/news/er...uEmpireFAQ.pdf )

Now if we modifiy this a bit as such.

A pathfinder squad is fielded next to their devilfish. The devilfish remains stationary and the pathfinder moved 0"-6" for the special scout move.

Comes turn one they can still use the markerlight if they remain stationary during the movement phase, because the scout move occur before the movement phase of the turn.

Eetion 17 Dec 2007 08:18

Re: Pathfinder scout Move
 
Thank you for correcting me..... and answering my question.
Well.... that sucks, a whole 6 inch for a recon troop. Oh well.

ForbiddenKnowledge 18 Dec 2007 12:23

Re: Pathfinder scout Move
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Eetion
Thank you for correcting me..... and answering my question.
Well.... that sucks, a whole 6 inch for a recon troop. Oh well.

Well, due to the team (whole team here guys ::)) having Scout, the DF can.... but unfortunatly, in the time of the stupid Faq's, GW buggered it up.

mithril 18 Dec 2007 16:02

Re: Pathfinder scout Move
 
yeah, since the new policy is RAW, the DF can, can't and "why did GW create such a confusing policy" depending on who you ask.

my own personal stance is that since Scouts applies to whole units, and the DFish is listed as part of the unit (4-8 Pathfinder and devilfish, not 4-8 pathfinder and an attached devilfish), the Dfish can scout.

Boneguard 19 Dec 2007 23:58

Re: Pathfinder scout Move
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mithril
yeah, since the new policy is RAW, the DF can, can't and "why did GW create such a confusing policy" depending on who you ask.

my own personal stance is that since Scouts applies to whole units, and the DFish is listed as part of the unit (4-8 Pathfinder and devilfish, not 4-8 pathfinder and an attached devilfish), the Dfish can scout.

Well at the end if your opponent have no problem with that Go for it.

But the FAQ in my original post was for the New 4th Ed Codex and they clearly state that the devilfish doesn't get the Scout benefit only the 4-8 pathfinder.

So in the end if your opponent in aware and 'fluent' in the FAQ, he might not take it kindly that you apply the Scout movement to the 'fish.


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:45.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
TauOnline.org is completely unofficial and is in no way endorsed by Games Workshop Limited.


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366