Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Markerlight question
Reply
Old 01 Dec 2007, 03:53   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 13
Default Markerlight question

Let's say I buy a Markerlight for a Shas'ui in a standard team of Fire Warrior troops.

Whenever that unit fires, am I allowed to fire the Markerlight first, and if it hits, immediately spend the markerlight counter so that the rest of the Fire Warriors in same the team benefit from it?

Or can a markerlight counter only be expended for the benefit of a completely different unit of Tau?
Signal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 Dec 2007, 04:05   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Georgia-US
Posts: 554
Default Re: Markerlight question

Only a completely different unit. If you want to benefit the squad carrying the markerlight, then get a marker drone for the shas'ui. The marker drone has a Networked Markerlight, which allows the firing squad to benefit. It's all in the wargear section of the Codex.
Darth_Fraggle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 Dec 2007, 06:53   #3 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 438
Default Re: Markerlight question

Heres a question I've had for a little while. I've never done this because I don't know if its legal or not and I believe its been discussed before. If two shas'ui have marker lights and both target the same unit and their respective squads use the light from the other teams marker then you wouldn't need a marker drone. Is this legal or am I just dreaming of a fantasy world where anything can happen no matter how ridiculous.
__________________
waters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 Dec 2007, 06:58   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Fort Collins Colorado
Posts: 882
Default Re: Markerlight question

Quote:
Insert Quote
Heres a question I've had for a little while. I've never done this because I don't know if its legal or not and I believe its been discussed before. If two shas'ui have marker lights and both target the same unit and their respective squads use the light from the other teams marker then you wouldn't need a marker drone. Is this legal or am I just dreaming of a fantasy world where anything can happen no matter how ridiculous.
The first unit would fire normally. If the markerlight from the first unit hit, then the second unit could use it to improve its BS. The other shas'ui's markerlight wouldn't benefit though, as markerlights cannot guide each other.
__________________
When you wish upon a star, your wish may come true. Unless that star is a meteorite hurtling towards the earth. In that case you're just screwed; unless you wished for death by meteorite.
Commander_Vimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 Dec 2007, 07:59   #5 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 438
Default Re: Markerlight question

I'm not asking if the mark light can guide another marker light I'm asking if the marker light from the first squad can be used by the warriors in the second squad and if the marker from the second squad can be used by the warriors from the first squad.
__________________
waters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 Dec 2007, 08:42   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 1,075
Send a message via MSN to Kiznti
Default Re: Markerlight question

No. Keep in mind that during the shooting phase you fire by squads- first squad A will fire all it's weapons, then squad B will fire all of it's stuff, etc, etc...

This comes up every once and a while, and it's covered in the main rulebook.
__________________

Read the Strange Gazzet. You know you want to!
Kiznti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 Dec 2007, 13:35   #7 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Retired back into the depths of the Internets.
Posts: 6,440
Send a message via MSN to mace
Default Re: Markerlight question

Mhmm. As per the rulebook - squad completes all it's shooting simultaneously, one squad at a time. This means:

a) You can't use a markerlight for the benefit of the squad that is carrying it because it fires at the same time as all the other guns in the unit. The only exception is a Networked markerlight which has explicit rules around this.

b) One squad completes its firing before another - so you can't use the second markerlight counter to benefit the first squad, as they have already fired.

So that's a no to both questions above.
__________________
mace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 Dec 2007, 14:06   #8 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dk
Posts: 36
Send a message via MSN to Primo
Default Re: Markerlight question

Indeed,

You can make a:

2 Fire warriors Units, where the Shas'Ui, has a Markerlight

and 2 Fire warriors Units, without, then use-

make them stand 2and2, 1 with, and 1 without.

The squad with shoots first, and the 2nd without then uses a marker incase it did it (If you really wish to run it that way)

Remember to give your Teamleader Hard-Wired Multi-Tracker in this case though, so he can still fire with his normal equiped weapon for the extra shot!
__________________
Stats from After January 2008:

4 Massacres
5 Solid
2 Minor
1 Draw
0 Losses

Armies Played:
Tyranid, Chaos, Space Marines, Necrons, Daemon Hunters.
Primo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 Dec 2007, 14:13   #9 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Warrensburg, MO
Posts: 403
Send a message via AIM to TimberwolfCY Send a message via MSN to TimberwolfCY Send a message via Yahoo to TimberwolfCY
Default Re: Markerlight question

5 points for a H-W MT for ONE pulse shot? I think not...
__________________
"They got ded big shooty gunz dat'll kill tons of boyz, but if yer can get near em den you've got a chance. Just gotta make sure you bring loads of boyz, coz you ain't gonna have a whole lot left when you get close enough to crump em." - Warloard Skarmork, The Great Despoiler
TimberwolfCY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 Dec 2007, 14:20   #10 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dk
Posts: 36
Send a message via MSN to Primo
Default Re: Markerlight question

10 for a warrior, 5 for gaining the extra shot, call me dumb, but that looks fine to me!
__________________
Stats from After January 2008:

4 Massacres
5 Solid
2 Minor
1 Draw
0 Losses

Armies Played:
Tyranid, Chaos, Space Marines, Necrons, Daemon Hunters.
Primo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Markerlight question (yes another one) Shae2994 Tau 18 14 May 2009 08:16
Markerlight question? Gendoikari87 Tau 6 23 Dec 2008 12:28
Markerlight Question Tassadar Tau 3 18 Mar 2007 18:37
Markerlight question LONE_EAGLE Tau 13 05 Jan 2006 23:51
Another markerlight question Zedd Tau 32 11 Aug 2004 22:32