Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

batrep, or how did this happen?
Old 01 Dec 2007, 02:47   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Ui

Default batrep, or how did this happen?

Alright, this isn't gonna be a batrep up to my usual standards (it's gonna be a bit shorter as I don't have all of my opp's list and I've probably forgotten some of the details) but it should be a fun read anyway.

This afternoon I played against my little brother, 1000 pt, at first it was gonna be Marines (me) VS Orks (leaked dex), but since I'm new to Marines and didn't have the patience to write up a list, I switched to Tau. Fearing a one-sided battle, he switched to Blood Angels instead.

Eh. Long story short: 2 Devilfishes, Hammerheads, 1 Fireknife 'O and a lone Broadside with Shield Drones apparently kick the **** out of 2x 5 assault marines, 6 deathcompany and a Dreadnought (twin lascannon, venerable, extra armor) as I wiped the floor with him.

Understandably, he was a little upset, as he's got the most experience and has the unusual cocky attitude that he'll win no matter what.
That attitude is fine when facing my regular list (which in any points limit has 2 devilfishes and 2 hammerheads) using dark eldar (averaging at LEAST 8 dark lances + an x amount of blasters) but apparently when he runs a cc army, me setting up 2 hammerheads in 1000 points is "cheesy" with no possible excuse.

Also it's my fault he didn't bother to factor in my playstyle :

Anyway, enough beating around the bush.
He went "crying" to a friend of ours, an Eldar player, whom he talked into making his list as anti-tau as possible so he could stomp me to show me what a sin against the game it is for me to set up 2 hammerheads in 1000 points (and up) games. (I don't even bother explaining anymore that I feel 2 Hammerheads is essential, especially in a take-all-comers list).

The game:
1500 point Gamma level Recon

The lists: