Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Remora Drone Fighter question
Reply
Old 19 Nov 2007, 17:49   #1 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 327
Send a message via AIM to gerrylum
Default Remora Drone Fighter question

I was playtesting the Remora drone fighter yesterday and I became a bit confused. Is the Remora's networked markerlight only useful for launching seeker missles or boosting another squad? Since it doesn't have a multi-tracker, is the Remora even able to fire its markerlight AND its burst cannons in the same turn?
__________________
gerrylum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Nov 2007, 17:56   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Georgia-US
Posts: 554
Default Re: Remora Drone Fighter question

I don't know about regular 40k rules, but in Apocalypse, fliers shoot like stationary vehicles, and the Markerlight and LBBC's both count as a defensive weapon, so yes, as long as it's shooting them at the same target.

I'm not sure what you mean about the multitracker, the remora is a vehicle, and the vehicle-mounted multitracker lets you shoot like a fast vehicle.
Darth_Fraggle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Nov 2007, 18:03   #3 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 327
Send a message via AIM to gerrylum
Default Re: Remora Drone Fighter question

Thanks for the answer. I don't know what I was thinking with the muti-tracker either... confusing myself more than normal I guess!
__________________
gerrylum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Nov 2007, 18:21   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rockland, Wisconsin
Posts: 133
Send a message via MSN to XV88-2 Pilot
Default Re: Remora Drone Fighter question

The Networked Markerlight allows the unit to gain the ability to mark it's own targets, ie for it's own BC - Seeker Missiles, plus allows other units to use it if you so choose not to use it for its own BC - Seeker Missiles. Rules can be found on page 29 of the Codex if this does not help you out.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wargamer
Your army appears refreshingly different, which in itself is a god-send; it suggests you actually give a damn about something other than winning, and that alone speaks volumes.
TAU BATTLE RECORD AS OF 3 FEB 08

LOSSES 1
DRAWS 3
SOLID VICTORY 8
CRUSHING VICTORY 4
VICTORIOUS SLAUGHTERS 2

ARMYS PLAYED AGAINST SO FAR,

BLOOD ANGELS - BLACK TEMPLARS - DARK ELDAR - ELDAR - NECRONS - TYRANIDS - DARK ANGELS - ORKS
XV88-2 Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Nov 2007, 02:55   #5 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,997
Default Re: Remora Drone Fighter question

Also because of how the flyers rules work, the Remora CANNOT mark for other units because marker counters are discarded after each turn (flyers are used in the opponent's turn).
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wargamer
Aha, a brilliant point Impulse!
Impulse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Nov 2007, 05:00   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 892
Default Re: Remora Drone Fighter question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Impulse
Also because of how the flyers rules work, the Remora CANNOT mark for other units because marker counters are discarded after each turn (flyers are used in the opponent's turn).
Except this has changed with Apocalypse.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Col.Angus
I picture the Ethereal looking out the window of the Devilfish from his seat: "Hey this isn't the way to Applebee's?! Where are you guys taking...Aw man, a battle?! Aw, you guys are total dicks, I swear! I'm still wearing my bathrobe! Can I at least have a gun? What do you mean you don't have any extra? What should I do, hit Khorne Berzerkers with my symbol of office? Man, you're gonna be sorry if I die... dicks."
Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Nov 2007, 05:08   #7 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,997
Default Re: Remora Drone Fighter question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elliott
Quote:
Originally Posted by Impulse
Also because of how the flyers rules work, the Remora CANNOT mark for other units because marker counters are discarded after each turn (flyers are used in the opponent's turn).
Except this has changed with Apocalypse.
Really? I never knew that. Well, maybe I should read the Apoc book....
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wargamer
Aha, a brilliant point Impulse!
Impulse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Nov 2007, 14:43   #8 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Brampton Ont. Canada
Posts: 6,441
Default Re: Remora Drone Fighter question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Impulse
Really? I never knew that. Well, maybe I should read the Apoc book....
Indeed, I had an entire thread on this a few days ago. Makes the Remora downright awesome since it could simply float around at maximum range, marking things with very little chance of reprisal
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitch: the noob
Is it just me, or does Fish Ead really love to use a Dreadsock?...
I'd hate to get on his bad side... >
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiwaz
Fishy has just proved to me that Canadians CAN be scary...
Fish Ead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about Ork Fighter rule Anikei Ishkovnik Tau 5 22 Feb 2010 00:08
Remora Drone Fighter StaffordGames Tau 18 02 Apr 2008 02:50
Remora Drone Stealth Fighter - now on FW! ShasO KVor Tau 37 01 Oct 2007 21:32
Tau Remora Drone Fighter... calmsword Games Workshop News and Rumours 46 29 Sep 2007 16:21
Question about Farsight's "Ork Fighter" rule. Sephiroth_knight Tau 20 19 Dec 2005 19:51