Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Carbines or Rifles?
Old 01 Nov 2007, 13:34   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default Carbines or Rifles?

Hi

I'm new to Tau and am slowly building up my army one unit at a time. For my next unit I will be getting some fire warriors and would like to know people's opinion of whether to include carbines or not. I would either inlcude a few carbines + rifles, all carbines or no carbines.

Before people start posting about the rules benefits etc, I am looking at this from an appearences point of view only. I don't currently own the codex, nor have I looked at it. I will eventually buy it but I am working on this army as a modelling project first and an army to use second.

Thanks for any help

Mods: If this should really be in the hobby section then please move it there but I thought it was more related to the army itself than any of the hobby sections.
halbarad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 Nov 2007, 14:43   #2 (permalink)
Kai
Shas'Ui

Default Re: Carbines or Rifles?

Well in that case its entirely down to which one you prefer the look of

Most people use the rifles because rules wise they're generally considered better because of the range. I actually do like the look of the carbines, but I definatly prefer the pathfiner ones with the barrel mounted markerlight (which also looks like a funky gunsight), but outside of a pathfinder squad I doubt I'd ever arm a squad this way.
Originally Posted by Kai
Quote:
Originally Posted by †Methelas†
The Titan is not a human, therefore has no genitals!
My subtle diagram disagrees with you.
your "subtle" diagram contains Optimus Prime and Proffessor Farnsworth, it's heresy in it's own right!
Any similarities between your reality and mine are purely coincidental...
Kai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 Nov 2007, 14:47   #3 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

I will eventually be adding a pathfinder squad so I suppose I could include them then.