Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Confidence in Tau
Old 28 Oct 2007, 16:33   #1 (permalink)
Shas'La

Default Confidence in Tau

I've only played a single 500pt game with my Tau, so I'm not really experienced enough to have a good first-hand 'feel' of how Tau are good to collect, but I'm starting to feel a bit pessimistic about their weaknesses and how they don't seem very...beefy. They need to jump-shoot-jump, kill their enemy before any close-combat happens, obstruct assaults with the 'fish-of-fury', their plasma rifles are weakened for safety and there are those tedious rules rush as the Pathfinders have to bring a 'fish and the Farsight Enclave can only fight with their commander.

But I'm certainly not thinking of quiting just yet, as I like their intresting background ideology, they are not as sickeningly common as the Space Marines, and while the 'pulse rifle them before they assult us' tactic seems rather wimpish, it does give a musket-like tension to the game, needing every shot to count. Although buying a strong Chaos or fast Dark Eldar force to charge into the fray is temping, I might enjoy the strategic 'combined arms' style of the Tau with their markerlights etc. As for the hobby side of it, I like the style of my custom cadre and the look of the models, being very elegant and high-tech. Overall I see them as high-tech individual underdogs, using strategy and technology to overcome their stronger opponents (not that Chaos etc doesn't need strategy )

So, What i'd like to know is.... is it possible to play aggressively with Firewarriors and other Tau units without doing fishes of fury and other opponent-shy tactics? And, what is the greatest thing about Tau that keeps you collecting/playing?
Old 28 Oct 2007, 16:43   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Send a message via Yahoo to RaShan
Default Re: Confidence in Tau