Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

squad selection and tictacs
Closed Thread
Old 23 Mar 2005, 03:24   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default squad selection and tictacs

I'm pretty new to warhammer, I've played a few games against my mate and his space wolves up to now, but thats about it. It was him that got me into it, I said I wanted a shooty army so I could concentrate on battlefield tactics, non of this magic rubbish etc etc.. and so my army is TAU.

I reckon the games I've won against his Spave Wolves were down to his TERRIBLE luck with the dice (which always made me laugh as he threw a tantrum ) and my incredilble luck with the dice and not down to actual proper squad selection or tactics. I've read the tactics section to the site and am raring to put them into action, but as I read all the posts I realise that I have no idea what to take into consideration when selecting what to take into battle and what to arm them with.

I've noticed a lot of people on here say "hmm I'm a little confused why you're taking such and such with so and so when you could do this" when looking at other peoples army list, and it's this knowledge I'm looking to tap into and pickup so here's a list of what I've got. Bearing in mind I'm going to take on space wolves most of the time, do any of you "pro's" out there have any suggestions. for a 1000 to 1500 game.

HQ
----
O'Shova (I know he doesn't get used much) but I had to have him
Ethereal
I will be buying the XV81, 84 and 89 to use as a commander, but for now I can use one of the XV8's

Elite
------
4 XV8's with Fusion Blaster, Plasma rifle and multi tracker
5 XV15's with burst cannons and a sheild drone

Troops
---------
2 12 man squads of Firewarriors each squad has 4 Pulse carbines and 8 Pulse rifles (soon to be 2 more squads currently no weapons selected)
2 14 man squads of Kroot
1 Devilfish with pulse carbines and a Burst Cannon (soon be adding two more of these)

Fast Attack