Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Combat Patrol for New Player
Old 19 Oct 2007, 19:59   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default Combat Patrol for New Player

Hello! This is my first post, I've been lurking for a couple of weeks and I must say I am pretty impressed with the forum and the manners of the posters.
I am a bit new to 40K 4 months in now, I don't have a rulebook just yet but at my gaming shop the people are great for explaining rules and letting my read theirs, I will be getting one soon due to the fact that I have my combat patrol force finally! I do have the tau codex though.
The XV8 crisis suits are what got me into tau along with fire warriors. I have 5 of them and from what i've read on various forums a "fire knife" (plasma gun, missile pod, multitracker - i'm sure most people know that) is the best for a new player. So I guess I will be useing that layout in my combat patrol.
I will be playing a dark eldar player, I've seen a few games at 1500 points and they are pretty mean in assault. It seems that the XV8 crisis suits are not very good at assault so I would love any advice I can get. I don't know what he will be fielding exactly but he knows what I have, 5 XV8's & 12 fire warriors.
So what should I expect? I will be playing him wednesday night so any help on tactics and such would be great!
apostolos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 Oct 2007, 20:24   #2 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper

Send a message via AIM to Shas-o Y-eldi-he
Default Re: Combat Patrol for New Player

It should be an interesting match. The biggest piece of advice I can give you is this - keep your distance. Dark Eldar can be speedy, and can close the distance somewhat quickly. Tau are not geared for Close Combat, so it is wise to stay out of CC range at all costs.

If you can keep your distance and peg the DE with shots, you should do fine, since all of your weapons will negate DE saves.