Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

New to kroot
Old 17 Oct 2007, 02:19   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Default New to kroot

I've been playing tau for a couple years and have come to love their clean cut look as well as their small and effective units. For the longest time I have been able to beat back almost any army without using anything other then actual tau and tau technology, and this was the way I liked it. I would rarely want to take drones and I did not want any vespid or kroot what so ever. over time my friends began to find ways around my strategies and to stop them I had to change my army structure. This meant using more drones and starting to use vespid. that held me over for a little while, but now I fear that I am being forced to change strategies again. Now I look to the kroot to save my army.

Basically what I'm saying is I have never used meat shield like melee models like the kroot before and was wondering if any one had any suggestions. I would prefer not use any kroot at all but I don't think thats really an option anymore. That and having more of any model would be nice with Apocalypse starting up.

How many is too many? Is it a good idea to have a huge glob of 20+ kroot running around, or would it be better to use them in smaller units?

What about hounds, shapers, and krootox? I rarely hear about anyone using hounds or krootox so are they any good? Hounds seem to be the best melee the tau army has. Krootox seem like a waste. Is taking a shaper necessary for keeping kroot alive, useful on occasion, or completely useless all the time?

Are there any special cases? I know how kroot can be very effective when used in forests, but other then that is there any situation that kroot can really be worth having? Are there situations that are suicidal to take kroot, maybe against certain armies, for certain missions, or on certain tables (city, desert, wasteland, etc etc etc) ?