Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Multiple Shield drones - Useful?
Reply
Old 15 Oct 2007, 16:27   #1 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: That place where, stereotypically, we all drink tea and wear top hats.
Posts: 352
Default Multiple Shield drones - Useful?

One of the things I often see mentioned on this board, especially in topics regarding broadsides, is to kit out a team of three with a pair of shield drones. While this does make sense, in that you would want to give these units as much protection as possible, what puzzles me is how multiple drones are better than a single drone. From what I (probably incorrectly) interpreted from the rules on invulnerable saves, you may only get one save per unit. If that were correct, extra drones would only be useful as backup in case the other is blown up, which strikes me as something of a waste.

In addition, as the codex glances over shield drones very briefly, it neglects to mention how they confer a 4+ invulnerability save to the unit they are attached to. Is it just given to the whole unit when they join, like when certain HQ units confer bonuses upon any squad they become a part of, or is it something completely different?





Yes, I am aware that the above probably has a very obvious answer, but I'm a relative noob regarding the gameplay mechanics of 40k, so cut me some slack. :P
__________________
92% of forum users have signatures which explain how they are part of an 8% minority. If you are part of the 8% that don't, copy and paste this into your signature, and duck when the paradoxial nature of this action causes a rip in the space-time continuum.

Quote:
+++Your avatar is my worst nightmare.+++
Sven the Kaiser of Krieg, On my avatar.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wargamer
The Orkoid understanding of Force Field technology is staggering. The Imperium is a long way behind, and the Tau are, by comparisson, jumping up and down screaming "Witch! Witch!".
Askaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Oct 2007, 16:35   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 750
Default Re: Multiple Shield drones - Useful?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Askaris
One of the things I often see mentioned on this board, especially in topics regarding broadsides, is to kit out a team of three with a pair of shield drones. While this does make sense, in that you would want to give these units as much protection as possible, what puzzles me is how multiple drones are better than a single drone. From what I (probably incorrectly) interpreted from the rules on invulnerable saves, you may only get one save per unit. If that were correct, extra drones would only be useful as backup in case the other is blown up, which strikes me as something of a waste.

In addition, as the codex glances over shield drones very briefly, it neglects to mention how they confer a 4+ invulnerability save to the unit they are attached to. Is it just given to the whole unit when they join, like when certain HQ units confer bonuses upon any squad they become a part of, or is it something completely different?





Yes, I am aware that the above probably has a very obvious answer, but I'm a relative noob regarding the gameplay mechanics of 40k, so cut me some slack. :P
Of course you may take more than one inv. save per turn.

And then: Shield drones have the same T nd armor save as the unit they accompany. Thus you can alocate his to the unit to these drones without restrictions.

I will not go into the details,but read the big book again... especially the rules for allocating wounds, taking saves and then just for the informative benefit the rules for mixed armor and toughness.

Greetz, Trogdor
__________________
Gamestatistics 07:

[WHFB] Dwarfs
9 victorious slaughters/ 7wins/ 5 draws/ 7 losses

[WH40k] Tau
17victorious slaughters/ 10wins/ 2draw/ 1 loss
Trogdor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Oct 2007, 19:51   #3 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Warrensburg, MO
Posts: 403
Send a message via AIM to TimberwolfCY Send a message via MSN to TimberwolfCY Send a message via Yahoo to TimberwolfCY
Default Re: Multiple Shield drones - Useful?

Taking more than one SD is definitely NOT a waste. You can in fact take multiple Inv Saves to a unit; you apply wounds like normal how you wish (unless under "Torrent of Fire"--> very important), than make saves. If your opponent inflicts more AP wounds than you have Inv saves, than something WILL take wound, because each model can only make one save at a time, but this is why I take 4 SD's: so that, when the Death Star Lascannon Dev squad shoots my Broadsides' way, I can take all four potential Lascannon shots on my SD's provided I have all 4, and than make the Inv saves. Hopefully by the next turn I will have taken out his Dev's though, because if not, he will have likely killed half the SD's, which means if I don't kill 2 of his Lascannons, than that means two of my Broadsides will take wounds, and will either make cover saves if they can, or else two are instakilled (Lascannon is S9, Broadsides are T4; since the Lascannon is double or more the opponent's toughness, it is killed outright if there is no save, which in this case there isn't because the Lascannon is AP2).

Hope that helps.
__________________
"They got ded big shooty gunz dat'll kill tons of boyz, but if yer can get near em den you've got a chance. Just gotta make sure you bring loads of boyz, coz you ain't gonna have a whole lot left when you get close enough to crump em." - Warloard Skarmork, The Great Despoiler
TimberwolfCY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Oct 2007, 23:05   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
The Orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,208
Default Re: Multiple Shield drones - Useful?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Askaris
From what I (probably incorrectly) interpreted from the rules on invulnerable saves, you may only get one save per unit.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Askaris
it neglects to mention how they confer a 4+ invulnerability save to the unit they are attached to.
I'm afraid your confusion lies in your incorrect interpretation of the rules (don't worry it happens to all of us).

First, inv. saves are not taken per unit, their taken per model. If a model has an inv. save, he can use it instead of his normal save, regardless if the next guy over used it's own inv. save.

Second, the shield drone does not confer it's inv. save to the rest of the squad, it does not really offer any protection to any other model other then the fact that it can take a shot instead of the model it's protecting.

For example I have a unit of 2 BS and one SD that get hit by 1 las cannon, I can allocate the hit to the SD and regardless of if it passes or fails it's save, the BS are safe. If it does pass, then I can again use it another turn to protect my broadsides from incoming fire. If I take 2 SD instead of 1, well now that's twice as much firepower that the unit can sustain before my BS need to start taking wounds. I hope that helps clear it up.

__________________
The Orange is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shield drones / markerlight drones medd Tau 11 11 Aug 2009 19:25
Shield Gens VS Shield Drones Shasel_Aunat Tau 9 21 Aug 2008 18:08
Shield Generator vs Shield Drones Col.Angus Tau 27 07 Mar 2008 18:42
Shield Drones, Shield Gens and A.S.S. Tralfagar Tau 18 01 Jul 2007 15:54
Shield Drones or Shield Generators? blkdymnd Tau 16 28 Feb 2007 16:02