Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Quality or Quantity with Tau?
Old 11 Oct 2007, 02:18   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper

Send a message via AIM to Shas-o Y-eldi-he
Default Quality or Quantity with Tau?

I've been playing Tau for a little while now. I've tried mechanized, stationary, and hybrid lists. Honestly, I've never been able to walk away with a win (out of all the games I've played, I've scored 2 draws). Of course, I'm still learning my strategies and what mistakes not to take, but anyway, that's not the point of this post.

I'm questioning which is more efficient - Quantity or Quality with Tau? Should you aim for fewer, more geared-out units. Or should you cut back on wargear and fill in with more units?
Shas-o Y-eldi-he is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 Oct 2007, 03:38   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Send a message via AIM to PaxAnteBEllum
Default Re: Quality or Quantity with Tau?

I'm in the Same boat as you.(Losing record)
I'm trying to come up with a list also, but instead of looking to the forum, I have been looking to the history books. In World War 2, the Germans pushed the blitzkreig, which means lightening war, and relies on using machinery to increase an individual soldiers' skill. In contrast, the Soviets used manpower to support the machines.

One could compare this to different schools of Tau thought. The maximum increase of soldier firepower would be a large amounts of suits and Devilfish, with perhaps an XV-88 for support. The plan being that the Firewarrior is the Schwerpunkt(focus point) and everything else on the board is there to support them. The manpower support of Machinery would have many Piranhas and Hammerheads, with Footslogging units of Firewarriors and Kroot to support your tanks.

I have not tried out either of these, but I look forward to doing so. On that note, if you are paying for your models, like I do, Quality is cheaper :

Old 11 Oct 2007, 04:03   #3 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper