Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Surprise? - Tau as a top tier army.
Old 25 Sep 2007, 02:17   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Vre

Default Surprise? - Tau as a top tier army.

Back when I started playing 40k - 1998? i think? when i put tau on the table against marines, chaos, necrons, whatever, it was pretty much understood that the money was against Tau. The lack of any close combat power of any sort combined with the prevalence of the rhinorush made sure of that. then a little later, v4 came out and rhinorush was no more. However, Tau was still not considered top tier because those considered top tier were things like drop pod army, daemonbomb army, ironwarrior in general, etc.

Then i left the 40k universe for quite a while. However, right before I left, and recently when I talk to those who still play 40k, there is an understanding and a feeling that Tau is one of those power armies... proudly standing shoulder to shoulder with the late daemonbomb army, or the drop pod assault cannon armies. I didn't think about it much then, but this latest whitedwarf brought these thought back to mind by comparing the nidzilla army as being on the same power bar as the mech tau list.

in the light of day, and now at the front of my mind, this is very surprising to me. Is this the concensus now among the general 40k community? Do you think it's true? Is it hype? thoughts?
Knight Actual is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 Sep 2007, 02:35   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El

Default Re: Surprise? - Tau as a top tier army.

I know that Mechanized Tau armies are something I greatly fear. I have only one one game against such an army, and it was close. Reminds me of the last Turni I went to, an elimination tournament and the two finalist armies where both mechanized Tau.