Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

flechettes in a piranha squadron
Reply
Old 29 Jul 2007, 17:03   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 20
Default flechettes in a piranha squadron

I had a thought the other day; if you equip more than one piranha in a squadron with flechette dischargers and that squadron is attacked by, say, a unit of hormagaunts; do you make the flechette wound roll once per each model or once per flechette-armed piranha per model?

It seems a bit cheesy, but I couldn't find anything on the forums to support or deny this.
fonkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Jul 2007, 17:41   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Fort Collins Colorado
Posts: 882
Default Re: flechettes in a piranha squadron

Each piranha will make flechette attacks against the units attacking it. So if 10 marines charge 3 piranhas, they could split up their attacks among each. So if all 10 attacked 1 piranha then only that piranha would use flechettes. If half attacked a second piranha then each piranha would use flechettes against only the models attacking it, so in this case five for each piranha.
__________________
When you wish upon a star, your wish may come true. Unless that star is a meteorite hurtling towards the earth. In that case you're just screwed; unless you wished for death by meteorite.
Commander_Vimes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Jul 2007, 18:22   #3 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Is the Politiburo smoking weed?
Posts: 5,144
Default Re: flechettes in a piranha squadron

No Flechettes attack the model attacking your vehicle that is armed with Flechettes.

So If One Piranha (armed with Flechettes) is attacked by 6 Gaunts, four of them get into base-to-base contact. Then four rolls at 4+ are made.

If Two Piranha (one armed with Flechettes and the other plain) are attacked by 12 Gaunts (six on each) then only the ones attacking the Piranha with Flechettes that are in base-to-base contact have to make a save. Those attacking the plain Piranha are safe from this.

Genmotty
Genmotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Jul 2007, 18:24   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,697
Default Re: flechettes in a piranha squadron

do the flechletts only work once, or can they work again and again if the prianha is charged multiple times?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fish Ead
Many Bothans died to bring this thread back on topic
[img width=650 height=74]http://i185.photobucket.com/albums/x38/Majonga/sig.jpg[/img]
majonga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Jul 2007, 18:29   #5 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Is the Politiburo smoking weed?
Posts: 5,144
Default Re: flechettes in a piranha squadron

I believe they work over and over...

*Gets Codex*

Yes there is nothing saying that it only fires once.

"[i]Any[i/] model attacking the vehical..."

Genmotty
Genmotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Jul 2007, 00:06   #6 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 20
Default Re: flechettes in a piranha squadron

Quote:
Originally Posted by Commander_Vimes
Each piranha will make flechette attacks against the units attacking it. So if 10 marines charge 3 piranhas, they could split up their attacks among each. So if all 10 attacked 1 piranha then only that piranha would use flechettes. If half attacked a second piranha then each piranha would use flechettes against only the models attacking it, so in this case five for each piranha.
I don't think that's quite right. If it were a simple a matter of being base-to-base, I could logically assume that to be true. But, per the rule (Tau p. 30): "Any model attacking the vehicle in close combat will be wounded on a D6 roll of 4+, with Saves allowed, before resolving its attacks." Attacking, not in contact with.

This is where my idea comes in. A squadron of vehicles behaves like a unit, so if one vehicle carries flechettes and the entire squadron is assaulted, each model in the assaulting unit would take the 4+ test, regardless of which vehicle it was actually close to. What I wonder is if it's possible to make the argument that multiple flechette-armed vehicles force multiple flechette wounding checks. Weird!
fonkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Jul 2007, 03:27   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 709
Default Re: flechettes in a piranha squadron

Quote:
Originally Posted by fonkin
Quote:
Originally Posted by Commander_Vimes
Each piranha will make flechette attacks against the units attacking it. So if 10 marines charge 3 piranhas, they could split up their attacks among each. So if all 10 attacked 1 piranha then only that piranha would use flechettes. If half attacked a second piranha then each piranha would use flechettes against only the models attacking it, so in this case five for each piranha.
I don't think that's quite right. If it were a simple a matter of being base-to-base, I could logically assume that to be true. But, per the rule (Tau p. 30): "Any model attacking the vehicle in close combat will be wounded on a D6 roll of 4+, with Saves allowed, before resolving its attacks." Attacking, not in contact with.

This is where my idea comes in. A squadron of vehicles behaves like a unit, so if one vehicle carries flechettes and the entire squadron is assaulted, each model in the assaulting unit would take the 4+ test, regardless of which vehicle it was actually close to. What I wonder is if it's possible to make the argument that multiple flechette-armed vehicles force multiple flechette wounding checks. Weird!
you could argue that, but it would definetly be rules lawering, and pretty bad sportsmanship.
__________________
I'm the fiend, the hero, the monster, and the saint all rolled in one. You can call me The Guy.
Malcaor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Jul 2007, 03:53   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 116
Default Re: flechettes in a piranha squadron

Quote:
Originally Posted by Malcaor
Quote:
Originally Posted by fonkin
Quote:
Originally Posted by Commander_Vimes
Each piranha will make flechette attacks against the units attacking it. So if 10 marines charge 3 piranhas, they could split up their attacks among each. So if all 10 attacked 1 piranha then only that piranha would use flechettes. If half attacked a second piranha then each piranha would use flechettes against only the models attacking it, so in this case five for each piranha.
I don't think that's quite right. If it were a simple a matter of being base-to-base, I could logically assume that to be true. But, per the rule (Tau p. 30): "Any model attacking the vehicle in close combat will be wounded on a D6 roll of 4+, with Saves allowed, before resolving its attacks." Attacking, not in contact with.

This is where my idea comes in. A squadron of vehicles behaves like a unit, so if one vehicle carries flechettes and the entire squadron is assaulted, each model in the assaulting unit would take the 4+ test, regardless of which vehicle it was actually close to. What I wonder is if it's possible to make the argument that multiple flechette-armed vehicles force multiple flechette wounding checks. Weird!
you could argue that, but it would definetly be rules lawering, and pretty bad sportsmanship.
I think that is a interesting concept, and it should be explored.
As for being a rules lawyer and a bad sportsman. I would never say that playing in the realm of the rules set out for the game and even being creative enough to push them to its full limit with out breaking them is anything but doing the game some level of good. Bad sportsmanship comes from breaking them and being uncontrolled in doing it. You don't learn anything from it.
__________________
"At this very moment, 17 million people in the world are having sex....and you're sitting in front of the computer like a loser."
Commander Darkside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Jul 2007, 04:04   #9 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 435
Send a message via ICQ to Dagonus Send a message via AIM to Dagonus
Default Re: flechettes in a piranha squadron

Quote:
Originally Posted by Malcaor
Quote:
Originally Posted by fonkin
Quote:
Originally Posted by Commander_Vimes
Each piranha will make flechette attacks against the units attacking it. So if 10 marines charge 3 piranhas, they could split up their attacks among each. So if all 10 attacked 1 piranha then only that piranha would use flechettes. If half attacked a second piranha then each piranha would use flechettes against only the models attacking it, so in this case five for each piranha.
I don't think that's quite right. If it were a simple a matter of being base-to-base, I could logically assume that to be true. But, per the rule (Tau p. 30): "Any model attacking the vehicle in close combat will be wounded on a D6 roll of 4+, with Saves allowed, before resolving its attacks." Attacking, not in contact with.

This is where my idea comes in. A squadron of vehicles behaves like a unit, so if one vehicle carries flechettes and the entire squadron is assaulted, each model in the assaulting unit would take the 4+ test, regardless of which vehicle it was actually close to. What I wonder is if it's possible to make the argument that multiple flechette-armed vehicles force multiple flechette wounding checks. Weird!
you could argue that, but it would definetly be rules lawering, and pretty bad sportsmanship.

I think you could do more than argue it. I can't even see why a model hitting the Piranha but not in base SHOULDN'T be hit. It's neither rules lawyering or bad sportsmanship. Everyone where I play has always played them that way. No one has ever played them requiring base to base since the wargear never even mentions bases.

Edit: I should add in though. That it would be each unit attacking the Piranha with the Launcher. so 3 Piranhas need 3 launchers. But the assaulters don't need to be in base to base.
__________________
There's no "r" in my name. Really. Trust me. Its just Dagonus.
Dagonus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 Jul 2007, 05:16   #10 (permalink)
lonely tau
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: flechettes in a piranha squadron

Think of it like a power weapon. If each individual model gets a Power Weapon than they all ignore armor saves in close combat. However, if only the sergeant has one only he ignores Armor Saves in Close Combat. Now replace "Power Weapon" with "Fleschette Launcher" and "Sergeant" with Piranha.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
flechettes and dreds?? marshal Tau 7 12 Apr 2010 22:20
Little question on Flechettes runer60000 Tau 4 14 Aug 2009 09:08
Piranha's, Flechettes, and a whole world of pain. GoneFishing Tau 70 01 Dec 2008 08:16
Piranha squadron size cykosis Tau 12 20 Oct 2008 08:01
Squadron armament Kugelblitz Space Marines 6 15 Dec 2006 19:00