Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

newbie questions on kroot and vespid
Old 28 Jul 2007, 02:00   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Default newbie questions on kroot and vespid

ok, so please bear with me because i am completely new to warhammer and having a bit of a hard time understanding some rules. as i was looking at all the armies, trying to pick the one for me, the tau empire stood out. the sheer firepower and look of them won my vote. so i went ahead about obtaining a battleforce, which i was luckily to get at a good price through someone who decided they didnt want to play tau, it was still not opened and i was naive to think it had everything i needed. that is until a friend showed me the two other races that were incorporated into the tau empire. i immediately bought some kroot, and this is where my question comes up...

any feedback would be helpful, and thank you in advance : ;D ;D ;D

im not sure about this, but i think it is correct to say that you can only 6' into a forest, right?

and kroot can shoot 12' through forests right? does that mean they have to be IN the forest to still shoot 12'
through the forest? or can they shoot 12' through a forest, despite being behind the forest?

and one other thing on kroot...
they have rapid fire weapons, so they cannot charge in the assualt phase?

now onto the vespid...

1st off, what are these guys actually useful for? they seem kind of expensive and frail to me... they only get 1 shot with their weapons, arent very good at close combat, and have a bad save (for their points)

do they have some special use???

it seems like anything they do, crisis suits could do better!

ok, thank you for helping me in all of my nooby-ness, and any answers are helpful at this point. dont feel like you have to answer every one of my questions

(\_/) this is bunny
(0.o) please copy and paste this into your sig and
'(__)' help him achieve world domination