Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Thesis. Fire Caste Society and Its Similarities to Ancient Sparta
Old 24 Jul 2007, 15:39   #1 (permalink)
Shas'El

Default Thesis. Fire Caste Society and Its Similarities to Ancient Sparta

Over the Last year and i bit I've been collecting Tau, I've been trying to find out ways to truly understand the mindset and Ideology of the Tau. During my AS Levels (courses taken in second last year of school, for those who don't know the English system) one thing i studied was Ancient Sparta and its social structure. As i learned more and more about both Sparta and the Tau i began to notice several similarities. i thought that perhaps i might be able to better understand the Tau by comparing it to Ancient Sparta, and therefore a set of Human, not alien ideals.

This isn't meant to any kind of History Lesson about Sparta, but obviously i will reffer to spartan social structure and ideals. Also I'm not trying to say that both societies are identical, and that the Tau are meant to be some-kind of 40k universe spartans. that ideal is completely wrong. indeed in some circumstances the Imperial Guard and Space Marines hold more in common with these Ancient people. However i hope to gain a better understanding of the Fire caste ideology and social structure by comparing it to a real world human society.