Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Hq question
Reply
Old 20 Jul 2007, 19:58   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3
Default Hq question

I am a new Tau player and was wondering if any can point out the page in the codex or 4th edition rules, that explains the 1+ rule. I have looked at the codex and can't find it. Thanks.
Trichloro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Jul 2007, 20:02   #2 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Behind you
Posts: 19,399
Send a message via MSN to ForbiddenKnowledge
Default Re: Hq question

Well, I'm honestly not sure its in the rulebook...


Basically, it means any Tau army you make MUST contain one crisis commander, and one fire team. You can have more, in accordance with normal organization choices, but you must always take one.


Hope this helps.
__________________
[quote]Thou shalt not crave thy neighbour

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim.
Rafe is damn sexy once he gets into his night attire.
ForbiddenKnowledge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Jul 2007, 20:15   #3 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: Hq question

Thanks for the quick reply, but as a new player I didn't know that I had to take a suit. I found out after reading these forums. We have 2 choices under hq in the codex, so why can't I just take an etheral(not that it would be effective.) That is why I'm look for a page number at least. Thanks again for all the help.
Trichloro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Jul 2007, 20:22   #4 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Behind you
Posts: 19,399
Send a message via MSN to ForbiddenKnowledge
Default Re: Hq question

Well, as far as I know, there isn't one. Its basically, that no matter the points value, you MUST take 1 crisis suit commander. Then, you are free to choose an Aun (I don't recommend it though) or another commander if you want.

Basically - as you know, the Force organization chart is a method where it makes the game a bit more balanced (so no taking of 4 land raiders as 1000 points etc).

Sometimes, either due to mission or codex, there will be further restrictions - like Farsight, he can take 0-1 hammerhead (I think), which means you can take none, or 1, but no more.

This applies in reverse, so instead of limiting you, you are forced (not that this is a bad thing) to take 1 commander, then 1 fire team. After this, it is up to you, in accordance with FOC limits.

I know you want a page number, but this is more just the way it is. When picking your army, you must have 1 or more crisis commanders, and one or more fire teams.

Hope this helps, I see where you are coming from, but as far as I know, there is no rule book page number explaining what "1+" means.
__________________
[quote]Thou shalt not crave thy neighbour

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim.
Rafe is damn sexy once he gets into his night attire.
ForbiddenKnowledge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Jul 2007, 03:04   #5 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to EOAdonis
Default Re: Hq question

Rafe is correct on everything, there is no page that explains the "1+" rule, but it does mean you have to take at least one of that unit or character.

But on the plus side, who doesn't love crisis suit commanders and fire warriors!
__________________
"And Shepherds we shall be

For thee, my Lord, for thee.

Power hath descended forth from Thy hand

Our feet may swiftly carry out Thy commands.

So we shall flow a river forth to Thee

And teeming with souls shall it ever be.

In Nomeni Patri Et Fili Spiritus Sancti."
EOAdonis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Jul 2007, 03:30   #6 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 435
Send a message via ICQ to Dagonus Send a message via AIM to Dagonus
Default Re: Hq question

Actually.. there is. It's just not a very direct explanation of it.

Page 24 of the Tau Codex heading: "Using the Army Lists" subheading "Unit Name". It describes it as a "limitation on the maximum" but that's as good as it gets I believe.
__________________
There's no "r" in my name. Really. Trust me. Its just Dagonus.
Dagonus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 Jul 2007, 11:54   #7 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Here, isn't that obvious
Posts: 320
Send a message via MSN to DRobot
Default Re: Hq question

Well i have never heard of the 1+ rule, though i have once read in a friends codex you HAVE TO HAVE 1 FIREWARRIOR TEAM, don't ask me why, i don't have a codex yet, but I've read about it, the crisis suit commander i don't know, only the fire warrior team. Hope this helps you
DRobot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 Jul 2007, 03:05   #8 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
The Orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,208
Default Re: Hq question

Dagonus has it, the explanation is in the very codex itself.

1+ basically means 1 or more and 0-1 means you can choose 0 to 1 units.
__________________
The Orange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 Jul 2007, 19:47   #9 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: Hq question

Thanks for the clarification. I guess it didn't make sense to me since nothing else is listed as 0-1.
Trichloro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 Jul 2007, 13:10   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 165
Default Re: Hq question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trichloro
... so why can't I just take an etheral ...
That's a question I've been asking too.
Reading up on the fluff there are mentions of Auns leading troops in battle, so it doesn't seem too far fetched to me...

Sliding slightly on the subject of Aun: I'd also like to see a broader variety of Ethereal options based on their rank. I assume the standard Ethereal is a 'vre.

Cheers
Olle
__________________
Olle P is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tzeentch Lord Question and Daemone weapon question. majonga Forces of Chaos 2 12 Apr 2008 00:32
Rules Question. (possible noob question) TheLetterV Tau 8 22 Dec 2006 23:34