Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Gue'vesa question
Reply
Old 09 Jul 2007, 18:38   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Kitchener
Posts: 196
Default Gue'vesa question

Greetings commander's!

Today's brainteaser is as follow's, under the Gue'vesa information posted on the GW site, it say's Gue'vesa'ui, (the auxiliary sergeant) has two attacks...yet nowhere does it say that he can replace his ladgun (or pulse weapon if he was lucky enough) with a close combat weapon and laspistol...so are these Tau trained sergeants so good that they gain an extra attack naturally? ???

Discuss!
Omen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Jul 2007, 19:28   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lynnwood
Posts: 819
Send a message via MSN to Damian_Alpha
Default Re: Gue'vesa question

Actually, yes. It is the same with a fire warrior Shas'ui, who get two attacks base.
__________________
"I have exactly one-hundred men under my command counting on ME to lead that charge, you two-bit mechanic. I have five seige tanks, eight APC's, an artillery platform and a light mech that need resupply and repair by dusk. I need remote mines set, trenches dug, and my men fed and rested, or those Marines are going to be using us for toothpicks. Get it done, Fio'vre." Officer Sherwin Jackson, 13th Dal'yth Company, to Fio'vre D'nan

"Feed well, my Bretheren. You are what you eat, and we have devoured the mighty." Master Shaper Korl Muur
Damian_Alpha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Jul 2007, 19:29   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 750
Default Re: Gue'vesa question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Omen
Greetings commander's!

Today's brainteaser is as follow's, under the Gue'vesa information posted on the GW site, it say's Gue'vesa'ui, (the auxiliary sergeant) has two attacks...yet nowhere does it say that he can replace his ladgun (or pulse weapon if he was lucky enough) with a close combat weapon and laspistol...so are these Tau trained sergeants so good that they gain an extra attack naturally? ???

Discuss!
Why should they not? A shas´ui has 2 attacks, too.

This is very common: A troop character has more Ld and/or more attacks than the average soldier. this is true for WH40k and WHFB.
__________________
Gamestatistics ´07:

[WHFB] Dwarfs
9 victorious slaughters/ 7wins/ 5 draws/ 7 losses

[WH40k] Tau
17victorious slaughters/ 10wins/ 2draw/ 1 loss
Trogdor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Jul 2007, 21:07   #4 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 14
Default Re: Gue'vesa question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Damian_Alpha
Actually, yes. It is the same with a fire warrior Shas'ui, who get two attacks base.
I hate this. Its like mocking us. Hah wow your Shas'ui gets an extra attack! Wow he might be good! Hah Psych. Give us BS...
Jarico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 Jul 2007, 21:10   #5 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Austria
Posts: 3,435
Default Re: Gue'vesa question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jarico
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damian_Alpha
Actually, yes. It is the same with a fire warrior Shas'ui, who get two attacks base.
I hate this. Its like mocking us. Hah wow your Shas'ui gets an extra attack! Wow he might be good! Hah Psych. Give us BS...
Not this discussion again :

It`s the standard GW progression for Vets: +1 A, +1 Ld. True for most Sergeants, Marine Veterans, etc. And for Tau.

Be glad. Ld 8 rocks for Crisis, and BS 4 is a possible upgrade with Hardpoints. Getting a second attack at STR 5, on the other hand, is much more difficult to come by with your Crisis teams...
CmdrBonesaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Jul 2007, 07:42   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lynnwood
Posts: 819
Send a message via MSN to Damian_Alpha
Default Re: Gue'vesa question

Crisis suits have two attacks, default. The attack bump doesn't affect them (though they do get an initiative bonus, I believe)
__________________
"I have exactly one-hundred men under my command counting on ME to lead that charge, you two-bit mechanic. I have five seige tanks, eight APC's, an artillery platform and a light mech that need resupply and repair by dusk. I need remote mines set, trenches dug, and my men fed and rested, or those Marines are going to be using us for toothpicks. Get it done, Fio'vre." Officer Sherwin Jackson, 13th Dal'yth Company, to Fio'vre D'nan

"Feed well, my Bretheren. You are what you eat, and we have devoured the mighty." Master Shaper Korl Muur
Damian_Alpha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Jul 2007, 08:25   #7 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: On the Midnight Ocean
Posts: 26,404
Send a message via MSN to Wargamer
Default Re: Gue'vesa question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Damian_Alpha
Crisis suits have two attacks, default. The attack bump doesn't affect them (though they do get an initiative bonus, I believe)
Crisis Suits are Shas'Ui. Shas'Ui = Sergeant. Therefore, the suit itself does not give you the bonus attacks.
__________________
Farewell, Kangaroo Joe, you shall not be forgotten.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"Wargamer is never wrong, Frodo Baggins; he knows precisely the rules he means to."
Wargamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Jul 2007, 15:58   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: on Dal'yth
Posts: 1,326
Default Re: Gue'vesa question

and the shas'vre upgrade, being somewhat useless, gives us WS and I, which is not the normal GW progression for vets. I'd gladly have LD 9 for my XV8 teams.

Cheers!
__________________
"The gue'la will either except our destiny, or die!"
-Shas'o Castris
Quote:
Originally Posted by Faolin
"Human nature" only prevents a better future if we accept it as unchangeable.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MechTau
Shasocastris, since my return to these boards, nothing has made a bigger impression than you and your views.
shasocastris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 Jul 2007, 23:50   #9 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 435
Send a message via ICQ to Dagonus Send a message via AIM to Dagonus
Default Re: Gue'vesa question

Quote:
Originally Posted by shasocastris
and the shas'vre upgrade, being somewhat useless, gives us WS and I, which is not the normal GW progression for vets. I'd gladly have LD 9 for my XV8 teams.

Cheers!
It does give us access to SI equipment though. Which could be useful if you're not already using those parts of it you want on your Commander(s)
__________________
There's no "r" in my name. Really. Trust me. Its just Dagonus.
Dagonus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gue'vesa rule question pepin0329 Tau 22 21 Mar 2009 13:31
Quick Gue'Vesa Question GeekyGator Tau 4 07 Apr 2007 06:56
Question Regarding Gue'vesa Rules on UK site... TimberwolfCY Tau 7 19 Aug 2005 00:08
One more question about Gue'vesa (human auxiliaries) ShasoJuice Tau 3 28 Jan 2005 07:10