Warhammer 40K Forum

New tau player, 1000 point list to start
Closed Thread
Old 28 Feb 2005, 01:22   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper

Default New tau player, 1000 point list to start

HQ
Shas' el
plasma rifle, missile pod, hardwired multi tracker, drone controller w/ two gun drones
=110
(goes with crisis squad below)
Elites
3 Crisis suits, fireknife (plasma rifle, missile pod, multi tracker), bonding
=205
Troops
Red Squad
12 fire warriors, Shas ui, bonding, 1 carbine
=140
Blue Squad
12 fire warriors, shas ui, bonding, 3 carbines
=140
Devilfish
=80
Green Squad
=140
Devilfish
=80
Heavy Support
Broadside battlesuit, TL railgun, 2 shield drones
=100
Total= 995
its my first try at a list for tau. In this size game, 4 plasma rifles, (4 missile pods too), and a TL railgun that has to have 2 4+ invul saves killed beofre he can be touched should be enough anti tank. i also like having lots of troops, and with 40 (counting battlesuits) troops in 1000 points this is the area i like (with mariens 1850 saw me having about 45 models)
Old 28 Feb 2005, 02:20   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O

Send a message via MSN to MalVeauX
Default Re: New tau player, 1000 point list to start

I have to say that I like it! A 1k list that has no Hammerhead is not common to find Bravo! Definately nice to see loads of firewarriors too.

HQ:

Your Shas'el is fine, but you should probably take the multi-tracker as a hard point and take a hard-wired drone controller... you'll save some points that way.

Elites:

Solid group! Advice: Don't join your Shas'el to this squad. He's an independent character and can function far more efficiently without being grouped up to them. Also, when you have low suit counts, it's beneficial to split them up so that you can maximize your target layout. Example: You have 4 sets of missile pods (8 shots). Why shoot them all at one transport, when you can shoot 3 different transports instead and blow them all up.