Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Markerlight-Seeker Army Experiment
Old 20 Jun 2007, 02:54   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper

Default Markerlight-Seeker Army Experiment

Hi! I am new to TO, I've been lurking for a week or two & I just signed up today. I bought most of my army figs back in 3rd ed. At that time, I was reading dakkadakka and many fine posts about Tau tactics by JTS1486, Mauleed, and others. I recently got interested in working on my army again, so I thought I would share my current thoughts about one of my favorite Tau weapons.

Please note: I've read the following articles/threads about markerlights(MLs) & seekers (among others I don't recall specifically):
http://forums.tauonline.org/index.php?topic=43564.0
http://www.advancedtautactica.com/ac...kerlights.html
http://advancedtautactica.com/viewto...er=asc&start=0
If you know of other good markerlight/seeker articles I haven't mentioned, please let me know!

Concept
Create general purpose army lists at various point sizes with the maximum useful amounts of markerlights and seekers to disrupt and confuse the opponent, without hobbling the crucial shootyness of the Tau.

This army will be capable of firing massive amounts of seekers early in the game to wreak havoc on the opponents lines, as well as boosting my forces abilities with the other ML capabilities.
I am interested in figuring out if can be an effective strategy at 400 pt. (combat patrol), 1000 pt., 1500 pt, and 1750 pt. levels.

Initially, I saw this army launching a seeker alpha strike on turn 1 and turn 2, dedicating virtually all ML shots to that, until all the seekers were exhausted. (Some folks think of Tau as an anime-style army. Surely, this is an anime-style tactic!)