Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online


Warhammer 40K Forum

Assault and different weapons in Firewarrior unit
Old 07 Jun 2007, 10:53   #1 (permalink)
Join Date: May 2007
Location: England
Posts: 189
Send a message via MSN to ShasO KVor
Default Assault and different weapons in Firewarrior unit

This is probably more of a core rules question (and quite a basic one at that), but it's something that arose in a game recently that strangely made us question it....

I'll use a Firewarrior unit as an example:

Let's say we have a unit of 6 pulse rifles and 6 carbines. If all models were to shoot in the same round, how does it work if they then wanted to assault? Of course, the rifles can't assault but the carbines are Assault weapons. Is the whole unit restricted from assaulting due to containing non-assault weapons? If only the carbines were permitted to assault then they would quite likely loose unit coherancy.

It's probably some fundamental rule we've missed but it's raised a curiosity.

Many thanks.
ShasO KVor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 Jun 2007, 11:55   #2 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 89
Default Re: Assault and different weapons in Firewarrior unit

If you fire any kind of Rapid Fire weapon (pulse rifle) from the unit then it cannot assault. So in Your example you could fire 6 shots from your carbines (assault 1 weapon) and then make an assault move OR fire 12 shots from your rifles (rapid fire range) and 6 from your carbines (and hope for pinning!) and not assault in the same turn.

Tassadar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 Jun 2007, 11:56   #3 (permalink)
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Behind you
Posts: 19,399
Send a message via MSN to ForbiddenKnowledge
Default Re: Assault and different weapons in Firewarrior unit

If one cannot, then none can.

Same with heavies. Say you have a devastator squad, and you move the non heavy carrying sergeant, none of the unit can then fire their heavies.

Also like if you have an assault unit with a bolter. If you fire the bolter, none of the assault unit can charge.

Termies are an exception, as are battlesuits however.
[quote]Thou shalt not crave thy neighbour

Originally Posted by Tim.
Rafe is damn sexy once he gets into his night attire.
ForbiddenKnowledge is offline   Reply With Quote


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which Assault Unit? Droids_Rule Craftworld Eldar 13 14 Jul 2008 10:25
need an assault unit irishoneall Imperial Guard 7 26 Oct 2006 01:15
Assault _ Weapons Zeroelement General 40K 14 08 Sep 2005 01:56
Can any tank or jetbike unit assault Eye of Time General 40K 3 09 Jul 2005 14:53
Best chaos assault Unit(expensive) Orion Forces of Chaos 22 24 Jan 2005 15:20