Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Vespid, I really don't know how to use them....
Old 28 May 2007, 11:53   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Default Vespid, I really don't know how to use them....

I have been playing tau for a good 4 years ago and ever since the release of the new codex i really haven't seen the use of vespids. sure their guns are great with such a low AP and a high strength, but their save is horrible. i mean i tried using them once and my brothers assault squad killed them all with bolt pistols for crying out loud. they can move far, but what good is it if they just fall over and die? if anyone has used them well please tell me what to do.
Old 28 May 2007, 11:56   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O

Send a message via AIM to Gatler Send a message via MSN to Gatler
Default Re: Vespid, I really don't know how to use them....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaso Rael
I have been playing tau for a good 4 years ago and ever since the release of the new codex i really haven't seen the use of vespids. sure their guns are great with such a low AP and a high strength, but their save is horrible. i mean i tried using them once and my brothers assault squad killed them all with bolt pistols for crying out loud. they can move far, but what good is it if they just fall over and die? if anyone has used them well please tell me what to do.
Use cover. Aside from that, there isn't really much you can do, I'm afraid. I prefer to minimize the number of dice rolls I make, so I wouldn't put too much on fleeting to get close. Just make sure you get the first shot.

Personally, however, I'd use either Sniper Drones or an Ionhead (or both) for taking out heavy infantry like that...