Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Decoy Launchers Re-roll quick question
Reply
Old 28 May 2007, 08:44   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 52
Default Decoy Launchers Re-roll quick question

Some help wanted.
If I got Weapon Destroyed result on my Devilfish, removing my only weapon and then take another one Weapon Destroyed result (BGB says I should treat this as Immobilized) may I force my opponent to re-roll this result because of Decoy Launchers?
Or only actual roll of 5 on Glancing hit table may be re-rolled?

Wilhelm Erbauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2007, 08:49   #2 (permalink)
Tyr
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kerikeri, New Zealand
Posts: 246
Default Re: Decoy Launchers Re-roll quick question

My understanding is that you only get to re roll an Imbolised result on the table so no you wouldn't get a re roll in the above case.
May be wrong though.
__________________
Proper placement of pathfinders portends possible pulse pleasure. - Darklord

"I have taken great pains not to laugh at the actions of aliens, nor to weep at them or to hate them, but to understand them."- Aun'shi
Tyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2007, 08:56   #3 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 52
Default Re: Decoy Launchers Re-roll quick question

I see your point. But I would like to see also some quotes from the rules as well
So, BGB says "...If a vehicle has no eligible weapons left, treat this result as an Immobilised result instead"
And Tau Codex says "...Whenever Immobilised result is rolled on the Glancing Hit Vehicle Damage table, Tau player may force his opponent to re-roll the dice..."
Wilhelm Erbauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2007, 09:11   #4 (permalink)
Tyr
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kerikeri, New Zealand
Posts: 246
Default Re: Decoy Launchers Re-roll quick question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wilhelm Erbauer
I see your point. But I would like to see also some quotes from the rules as well
So, BGB says "...If a vehicle has no eligible weapons left, treat this result as an Immobilised result instead"
And Tau Codex says "...Whenever Immobilised result is rolled on the Glancing Hit Vehicle Damage table, Tau player may force his opponent to re-roll the dice..."
Sorry I don't have my rule book in front of me. However if the above is correct then you wouldn't as you haven't rolled an immobilised result you have rolled something that is treated like one.
Just my 2 cents.
__________________
Proper placement of pathfinders portends possible pulse pleasure. - Darklord

"I have taken great pains not to laugh at the actions of aliens, nor to weep at them or to hate them, but to understand them."- Aun'shi
Tyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2007, 09:12   #5 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Somewhereshire
Posts: 6,214
Send a message via MSN to Ravager
Default Re: Decoy Launchers Re-roll quick question

Common sense says yes, it's still an immobilising result, so should be re-rolled.
RAW supports this. (please don't kill me mods :P)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by CmdrBonesaw
"Drop the shovel, and stand back from the keyboard!"


We have done the impossible... and that makes us mighty.
Firefly is pretty much made of Awesome, Funny, and Aww. Sometimes simultaneously. We'd better stop before we quote the entire script.
–tvtropes.org
Ravager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2007, 15:24   #6 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 6,130
Default Re: Decoy Launchers Re-roll quick question

It's not much of an issue with hammerheads or warfish, as honestly, you've got plenty of weapons. It might come up more with piranhas and tetras, though.

I would say that if it's treated as an immobilized, then any skill that affects immobilized results would also affect it.
__________________
Latest Project: Game Design Forums. Register now to get a low user ID, or reserve a forum for your own project.

My various opinions and tacticas, in article form: Ad clicks always appreciated.

Latest article topic: Video game design

Best free webhost Ive found yet: http://www.ultrawebsitehosting.com/2353.html
Tyndmyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2007, 15:57   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 217
Default Re: Decoy Launchers Re-roll quick question

when you say plenty of weapons, i am sure you mean... two... right?


unless you have burst cannons on the hammerhead.

Don't fool yourself, we have the least number of weapons of any tank in the freaking game.
__________________
Never underestimate stupid people in large numbers.
Grogalmighty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2007, 16:12   #8 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 6,130
Default Re: Decoy Launchers Re-roll quick question

I always take burst cannons. =) Still, with two or three weapons, the odds are rather unlikely of them getting all of those + 1 before getting immobilized/destroyed.

Technically, if you have seekers, they can also take those. I don't really feel the need, but it is one way of addressing this issue.
__________________
Latest Project: Game Design Forums. Register now to get a low user ID, or reserve a forum for your own project.

My various opinions and tacticas, in article form: Ad clicks always appreciated.

Latest article topic: Video game design

Best free webhost Ive found yet: http://www.ultrawebsitehosting.com/2353.html
Tyndmyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2007, 16:20   #9 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Brampton Ont. Canada
Posts: 6,441
Default Re: Decoy Launchers Re-roll quick question

Ummmm... As far as I can tell hammerheads are quite average in the #of weapons department. Hammerheads, Predators, Falcons and the non-crusader Land Raider get up to 3 weapon systems before we start adding things like vehicle upgrades. The Fire Prism only has 2 along with every chimera and hellhound in existance (although it's debatable whether they qualify as "tanks" in this comparison) The only things that can get more weapons than a hammerhead before adding in things like pintle combi bolters are Land Raider Crusaders (expensive), Leman Russ tanks (they're guard) and debatably battlewagons (expensive and rather easily destroyed)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitch: the noob
Is it just me, or does Fish Ead really love to use a Dreadsock?...
I'd hate to get on his bad side... >
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiwaz
Fishy has just proved to me that Canadians CAN be scary...
Fish Ead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 May 2007, 16:29   #10 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: On the Midnight Ocean
Posts: 26,404
Send a message via MSN to Wargamer
Default Re: Decoy Launchers Re-roll quick question

I'd be inclined to say no on this one.

The Decoy Launchers state "when an immobilised result is rolled". However, you didn't roll Immobilised in this scenario; you rolled Weapon Destroyed. The fact it blew your engines off is irrelavent.
__________________
Farewell, Kangaroo Joe, you shall not be forgotten.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"Wargamer is never wrong, Frodo Baggins; he knows precisely the rules he means to."
Wargamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Decoy Launchers in the 5th ed. Major Newcents Tau 12 29 Oct 2008 05:28
Decoy Launchers ? Anders Tau 3 21 Oct 2008 18:26
Question about Decoy Launchers Puppyblue Tau 15 01 Dec 2006 02:59
About decoy launchers. Courtyard Jester Tau 22 14 Feb 2006 00:36
Decoy Launchers UXO Tau 7 05 Apr 2005 22:42