Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Need a good weapon to compliment a fusion gun.
Old 25 May 2007, 16:00   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default Need a good weapon to compliment a fusion gun.

Hello all, I have been playing tau for a few months. I have six crisis suits and I have equiped to deal with different threats: three of them have plasma rifle, missle pod, and multitrackers for dealing with MEQs and light armor and the other three have plasma rifle, burst cannon, and multitracker for dealing with light infranty and such. I just picked up three more suits. I want to arm them fusion guns for taking out heavy infrantry and tanks. I have seen meltas put to great use in other armies. But unfortunately the meltas were protected by squads of wounds. Since our suits are kinda own their own (besides drones) what would be a good conpanion weapon to a fusion gun once the suit is within range, due to the fusion guns low rate of fire?

My thoughts were that a missle pod wound not be good, since the range difference in the two weapons would lean towards stays farther away and not using the fusion gun. That leaves plasma, burst cannons, and flamers.
I am open to suggestions.

Deathdealer
Deathdealer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 May 2007, 17:26   #2 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper

Default Re: Need good weapong to compliment a fusion gun

Actually, I'd recommend the MP because of the range difference. Unless you're planning to Deep Strike these in you'll need something you can fire as you advance in and out of cover across the board. The MP has the range, and the strength to easily wound. Only drawback is the lack of AP against MEQ. On the other hand, you could use them to pop light vehicles on your way over, increase wounds (and therefore saves) once you're in range and you're still going to get the FB kills.