Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

FoF help
Old 23 May 2007, 19:27   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Send a message via MSN to ShasO KVor
Default FoF help

Sorry if i'm sounding a bit thick. I'm pretty new to Tau and also 40K so hope I can be forgiven for asking stupid questions :P

Having read the FoF tactic, i'm still a little confused. So the basic premise is that the Devilfish can get in close, troop disembark and fire under the devilfish, thus gaining it's cover.

Doesn't this work both ways though? If the Firewarriors can fire from behind the Devilfish then why can't the enemy fire under as well?

Sorry if i'm missing the point. It's obviously a common tactic but i'm failing to grasp it.
ShasO KVor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 May 2007, 19:35   #2 (permalink)
Xan
Shas'Saal

Default Re: FoF help

The main idea is not allowing your enemy to assalut you.
Both sides can shot under Devilfish , but nethier can move under it.
This way you are not allowing your oponet to get into CC and keep it ranged.
an exceedingly small amount of redeemable features
Xan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 May 2007, 19:42   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Vre

The Fish of Fury is purely a tool for denying assaults. It has nothing to do with cover or preventing the enemy from shooting you. Occaisionally the survivors will fail a target priority check and waste all their S4 bolter shots on the Devilfish, but this is not something to be counted on, merely a perk.
"i like to think of playing against my list as being like punching jelly. you put all your effort in but it just moves out of the way and you cause no damage. then your arm is covered in jelly. and the chicks come out and start wrestling in the jelly, and i drink a beer with stone cold steve austin, and we watch the chicks jelly wrestling, and then the slap-bass funk starts wakka chakka wakka wakka woh" -- Spooky, describing Mech Tau