Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Where to go?
Old 18 May 2007, 17:27   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Default Where to go?

Hi there, total newbie here with a question for the vets.

I recently bought the Tau Battle Force and am currently in the process of painting them up. This is my first foray into Warhammer 40K, and Tau was the army that I liked the look of, that and almost no one around here (Trondheim, Norway) seem to play them so...

I'm thinking about buying a few add-ons tomorrow, what should I be looking for? I'd like my army to be mobile as I think staying out of close combat will be the key for me to win battles. I've been looking at the Pathfinders and like the concept, but stuff I've read makes me think that they are not very good.

I also like the Broadsides, but they seem very static?
Keep in mind that I'm totally new to 40K, so any advanced tactics stuff will probably have to wait until later. I'm don't want to win every match, but have a fighting chance
Please give me some input here (I'm sure you guys have answered 100 posts like this, but I'm still hoping for some positive feedback).

Best regards
Rune
Nanostorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 May 2007, 17:46   #2 (permalink)
Shas'La

Default Re: Where to go?

Well, theres 3 ways you can play Tau which are static were you have lots of infantry broadsides and pathfinders. Mech were you have all your firewarriors in devilfishes an lots of hammerheads an piranhas. Or you go hybred which is in the middle and this is what i play. its a mix of mech an static and i find it works very well.

if you only have the battle force i would suggest you buy either a hammerhead, some piranhas or maybe a devilfish for you firewarriors.

I dont often take pathfinders i just find them to expensive and to fragile, they are also slow and the devilfish cant use the cout rule.