Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Played my first game against Blood Angels yesterday.
Old 13 May 2007, 19:36   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Default Played my first game against Blood Angels yesterday.

And it wasn't my best by a long-shot. My bro's back from vacation and his vanilla marines thumped me pretty bad. Although we both winced at the incredible amount of snake-eyes that kept coming up (he admitted he's never seen so many 1's and 2's while rolling 20+ die), I feel that my list wasn't as tight as it could've been.

Here's a quick rundown of what we brought to the field, with some proxying, because I'm a student and he's recently unemployed.

Tau:

1 Shas'el, Fireknife with shield drone
2 Shas'ui, Fireknife (Deep Strike)
12 Bonded FW's, Shas'ui with markerlight
12 Bonded FW's, Shas'ui with markerlight
2 Broadsides, with shield drone
Ionhead with all the trimmings
Sniper Drones

Ironically, the last two lived as the sniper got boxcars on his morale and somehow outran the assault marines. The Ionhead left (retreated) past my line as it was under very heavy fire and we were well into turn 9 and both tired.

Space Marines
1 Commander, Jump pack
1 Dreadnaught (Deep strike)
1 Dreadnaught (Deep strike)
3 Assault bikes, with heavy bolter sidecars
5 Tactical Marines, with sarge, plasma and missile
5 Tactical Marines, with sarge, plasma and missile
6 Assault marines, led by chaplain with chainswords and a power weapon
2 Rhino APC's to drive his Tac Marines around

Through incredibly cruddy rolls, I managed to pop one of his rhinos first turn, but thankfully for him, only one broadside actually hit anything the whole game, before a violent chainsword dead, and the sniper drones and markerlights didn't actually get to make an appearance.