Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Is it truly possible for a 'guaranteed' win with Tau?
Old 02 May 2007, 21:22   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Default Is it truly possible for a 'guaranteed' win with Tau?

A friend of mine claims that he's actually gotten bored with his Tau Empire army because he 'wins too often' and opponents have little chance of actually defeating him. He's a long-time GW employee, so I'm not doubting that he has hundreds of games under his belt, if not thousands. I've been playing 40K for about 4 months now and have roughly a dozen or so battles under my belt. As a newb Tau Empire player, have about a 60% win ratio, which I consider alright. Deepstriking marines, Necrons or a Nidzilla army are things that give me trouble, but he gloated that if he fought a Nidzilla army, "...nothing would be left by turn 3."

He doesn't want to let all of his tricks out of the bag, since we will square off against one another this weekend, but could anyone help me understand how someone could virtually all but guarantee winning to the point of becoming bored with an army?

My only thought would be quantity over quality, in our upcoming 1000 point tourny. I was thinking of 4 groups of 12 FW's, bonded and markerlit. Perhaps 48 S5 shots per round would eventually erode *anything*, but asides from that, I'm puzzled....

Thanks in advance.
krupintupple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 May 2007, 21:28   #2 (permalink)
Ethereal

Default Re: Is it truly possible for a 'guaranteed' win with Tau?