Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Skimmers and terrain as cover question
Reply
Old 01 May 2007, 15:51   #1 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Wah-Shing-Ton
Posts: 281
Default Skimmers and terrain as cover question

Recent game- a Piranha was on one side of an intact wall (it had moved 6" last turn) and it was taken under fire by a Landraider. The LOS crossed the wall to the skimmer. Does the wall provide a cover save to the skimmer?
__________________
Show me on the hobbit where the bad man touched you.
Kugelblitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 May 2007, 15:59   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Washington
Posts: 208
Default Re: Skimmers and terrrain as cover question

* Don't hate me if i'm wrong, but since the piranha dosn't have landing gear, and i'm guessing the wall wasn't size 3, so no, the wall does not block LOS. And vehicles never get a cover save, i don't think...
Shorelineviking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 May 2007, 16:02   #3 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,096
Default Re: Skimmers and terrrain as cover question

If the wall partially blocked line of sight to the piranha then it would count as Concealed.

This gives it a chance to treat penetrating hits as glancing hits.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by heliodorus04
Falstead, you're a genius!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farseer_Emlyn
Gah! Not a silly Canadian. Can't Falstead ever be wrong?!?!? ;D
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafe (Autarch Kiardras)
My god.... the sarcasm there nearly shorted out my computer screen Nice.
Falstead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 May 2007, 17:10   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
The Orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,208
Default Re: Skimmers and terrrain as cover question

No cover save, sorry. If the wall blocked at least 50% of the piranha (using real LOS) from view then the piranha would count as an obscured target (BGB pg. 69). Of course just moving your pirnha +6" provides better protection then "obscured target".
__________________
The Orange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 May 2007, 22:26   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: on Dal'yth
Posts: 1,326
Default Re: Skimmers and terrain as cover question

why would a skimmer not want to go fast in the first place, especially against landraiders
__________________
"The gue'la will either except our destiny, or die!"
-Shas'o Castris
Quote:
Originally Posted by Faolin
"Human nature" only prevents a better future if we accept it as unchangeable.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MechTau
Shasocastris, since my return to these boards, nothing has made a bigger impression than you and your views.
shasocastris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A question about intervening terrain, area terrain and cover saves? chicop76 General 40K 25 31 May 2010 23:04
Skimmers landing in Area Terrain question Rudog General 40K 2 15 Oct 2009 20:32
skimmers & cover. krupintupple General 40K 7 27 Jun 2007 20:44
Basing, Terrain and Cover question Nightwing Conversion 5 20 Apr 2007 14:29
cover for skimmers? frankthetank Tau 35 06 May 2005 17:51