Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Tau force expansion suggestions
Old 01 May 2007, 15:39   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default Tau force expansion suggestions

Hello everyone,

I am very new to the Tau, i recently had the good fortune to be able to acquire around 1K points of well painted Tau from a friend.
I have jumped at this opportunity because it provides me with a welcome change from my current Thousand Sons army...

After exactly one battle with my new Tau (and having played against them several times) i have a pretty good idea of my 1K points starting army (I am going for Mech Tau as i really like the Tau vehicles, and want as much mobility as i can get):

HQ:

Shas'o with one Bodyguard, both Fireknives (Shas'o had two Shield Drones). Considering the Shas'o is an independent character UNLESS accompanied by a Bodyguard this makes them a scoring unit together, right?

Elites:

Crisis team, 2 suits, one upgraded to Shas'vre, both Fireknives

Troops:

10 Fire Warriors, one upgraded to Shas'ui, in a kitted out Devilfish with SMS

10 Fire Warriors, one upgraded to Shas'ui, in a kitted out Devilfish with SMS

Heavy:

Hammerhead decked out, Railgun and SMS.

This gives me a nice starting force... Now i am wondering how i will spend the next 500 points to get the army up to tournament size (1500 pts here in the Netherlands)...

I am certainly getting another Hammerhead with Railgun, but after that i am open to suggestions...

I could get a third Hammerhead, with an Ion Cannon, or another Railgun

Some Stealth suits would also be an option, and/or more crisis suits... I am unsure about the Stealth Suits though...

I guess i could include some Kroot, as they are very cheap, but i'd rather not, as they do not really fit with my idea of Mech Tau...