Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Scatter dice and re-rolls
Reply
Old 27 Apr 2007, 10:38   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 89
Default Scatter dice and re-rolls

Hey...

I was wondering how to re-roll the Scatter Dice with my Pathfinder Devilfish?...

...Is it ONLY the dice with the Hit and Arrows symbols OR ONLY the dice with Numbers OR BOTH of them...

If BOTH can I choose to re-roll only one of the dice or are they considered to be 'linked' together in terms of dice and must both be rolled together as part of a re-roll?

I have looked up the rules of re-rolls in the great book but hasnt got it yet, please clear this up for me!

Cheers!

Tassadar
Tassadar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Apr 2007, 10:56   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Somewhereshire
Posts: 6,214
Send a message via MSN to Ravager
Default Re: Scatter dice and re-rolls

Only the scatter dice may be re-rolled. (the one with arrows & hit symbols)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by CmdrBonesaw
"Drop the shovel, and stand back from the keyboard!"


We have done the impossible... and that makes us mighty.
Firefly is pretty much made of Awesome, Funny, and Aww. Sometimes simultaneously. We'd better stop before we quote the entire script.
–tvtropes.org
Ravager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 Apr 2007, 12:05   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: U.S.A New Mexico
Posts: 657
Send a message via Yahoo to orkkrusher
Default Re: Scatter dice and re-rolls

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ravager Zero
Only the scatter dice may be re-rolled. (the one with arrows & hit symbols)
Well that sucks >!
__________________
orkkrusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Apr 2007, 18:23   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
The Orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,208
Default Re: Scatter dice and re-rolls

I think you reroll all the dice. Despite the wording, the second roll for the distance scattered is compleatly dependent on the first roll for the scatter. Imagine if your first roll was a hit, your not supposed to roll for distance scatterd unless you roll one of the arrows. Now suppose you wan't to re-roll it (despite how unlikely it would be), could you just roll the scatter dice, and if you get an arrow have a scatter of 0" because you never got to roll for a scatter distance with the first roll? Or would you just roll the distance scatterd if you get an arrow (as per the normal rules)?
__________________
The Orange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 Apr 2007, 21:18   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lynnwood
Posts: 819
Send a message via MSN to Damian_Alpha
Default Re: Scatter dice and re-rolls

You'll note that it says scatter DICE, not scatter DIE. When you roll scatter you roll all of them.
__________________
"I have exactly one-hundred men under my command counting on ME to lead that charge, you two-bit mechanic. I have five seige tanks, eight APC's, an artillery platform and a light mech that need resupply and repair by dusk. I need remote mines set, trenches dug, and my men fed and rested, or those Marines are going to be using us for toothpicks. Get it done, Fio'vre." Officer Sherwin Jackson, 13th Dal'yth Company, to Fio'vre D'nan

"Feed well, my Bretheren. You are what you eat, and we have devoured the mighty." Master Shaper Korl Muur
Damian_Alpha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Apr 2007, 02:56   #6 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 6,130
Default Re: Scatter dice and re-rolls

Quote:
Originally Posted by Damian_Alpha
You'll note that it says scatter DICE, not scatter DIE. When you roll scatter you roll all of them.
Thats how I've always played it. You roll all the dice for scattering. The wording is just in such a way that it seems that rerolling the whole lot is assumed.
__________________
Latest Project: Game Design Forums. Register now to get a low user ID, or reserve a forum for your own project.

My various opinions and tacticas, in article form: Ad clicks always appreciated.

Latest article topic: Video game design

Best free webhost Ive found yet: http://www.ultrawebsitehosting.com/2353.html
Tyndmyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Apr 2007, 02:58   #7 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Some where under antarctica
Posts: 408
Send a message via AIM to Funshade
Default Re: Scatter dice and re-rolls

I'm sure their are rules for how to roll scatter dice but i just the scatter. if it hits i don't roll a deviation. thats just me
__________________
I swear upon this day.
I will always win some way.
I have half times the strength
I have half the weight
I will have five times the stamina
~those who never louse... always win~
Funshade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Apr 2007, 04:01   #8 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Scatter dice and re-rolls

You reroll both.
khanaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 Apr 2007, 21:56   #9 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
The Orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,208
Default Re: Scatter dice and re-rolls

Quote:
Originally Posted by Damian_Alpha
You'll note that it says scatter DICE, not scatter DIE. When you roll scatter you roll all of them.
Look at the argument I made against just rolling the single scatter dice, and how illogical it is.

By the rules of the scatter dice you can only roll the distance scatterd if an arrow is rolled. If a target is rolled, you don't/can't roll the regular dice. Now by the rules of the DF re-roll, you can reroll your scatter dice, it dosen't matter what the result was. So if I roll a hit the first time, I can't roll for the distance, but if I choose to I can still re-roll the scatter dice. And what happens if I get an arrow? I'd scatter 0" because I can't roll the distanace dice?

Re-rolling both dice make's far more sense.
__________________
The Orange is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two Pathfinder Devilfish let you re-roll scatter dice twice? enoch Tau 10 28 Jan 2010 21:47
Scatter...? The Star Forger Imperial Guard 2 11 Jul 2008 20:36
Die Rolls Nox General 40K 15 03 Feb 2008 21:08
scatter dice Death-Merchant General 40K 2 02 Apr 2006 20:48
Bad rolls firewarrior Space Marines 5 13 Apr 2005 08:32