Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online (http://forums.tauonline.org/)
-   Tau (http://forums.tauonline.org/tau/)
-   -   Piranha Gun Drones (http://forums.tauonline.org/tau/36834-piranha-gun-drones.html)

Maniac with a Chainsword 18 Apr 2007 01:52

Piranha Gun Drones
 
Okay, so I was looking at the codex, when a thought occurred to me which would be too cool if thats how it worked. In the vehicle wargear section, under Gun Drones, it says that they "may fire as part of the vehicle, using their own BS, in addition to any other weapons. Does this mean that a piranha, or, say, 5, can move over 12 inches and fire with the gun drones? Also, they have to use their own BS, so you would think that if they were a part of the vehicle weapons,they would get to benefit from its higher BS. So, am I correct, or is this just wishful thinking on my part?

Yaifrog 18 Apr 2007 01:57

Re: Piranha Gun Drones
 
Yes, a Piranha can move 12" and still fire with the gun drones. However, they don't gain ant BS boost. They have to fire with their own BS.

Maniac with a Chainsword 18 Apr 2007 02:13

Re: Piranha Gun Drones
 
No, I mean can they move over 12 inches and fire with their gun drones? I am assuming that the answer is no, but it doesn't hurt to ask. And I know that they fire at their own BS; I was just using that as an arguement to show that, because they do not use the BS of the vehicle, they are not a part of it.

Ravager 18 Apr 2007 02:48

Re: Piranha Gun Drones
 
They can't, as it says they treated as passengers in all respects.
Thus, as passengers cannot fire if a vehicle moves more than 12", neither can attached gun drones. ;)

Funshade 18 Apr 2007 03:22

Re: Piranha Gun Drones
 
would a markerlight used for a piranha squad benefit all of them including the drones?

Tyndmyr 18 Apr 2007 04:09

Re: Piranha Gun Drones
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Yaifrog
Yes, a Piranha can move 12" and still fire with the gun drones. However, they don't gain ant BS boost. They have to fire with their own BS.

Well, up to 12, yeah. But if you boost, not so much.

A ML used on a piranha squad will not benefit drones, as they are treated as passengers. Different squad. Now, you can deploy all the drones from the squadron(they form a single gun drone unit), and use the ML to boost them...

Damian_Alpha 18 Apr 2007 05:47

Re: Piranha Gun Drones
 
Actually, they are NOT passengers, and are NOT treated as a different squad unless they detach. They are only treated as passengers IF the vehicles is damaged.

While they are still in their sponson-points, they fire as part of the vehicle (thus may benefit from markerlights) using their own BASE ballistic skill in the same way as a vehicle weapon.

This is because while they are mounted on the piranha, they are linked into it's targeting computer. Thus unless the Piranha is equipped with a target lock they MUST fire at the same target as the Piranha. They do not, however, gain benefits from targeting arrays, as those specifically modify the Piranha's BS only.

The Orange 18 Apr 2007 06:32

Re: Piranha Gun Drones
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Damian_Alpha
While they are still in their sponson-points, they fire as part of the vehicle (thus may benefit from markerlights)

Tau FAQ says they can't. Darn GW >:(.


All times are GMT. The time now is 16:27.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO © 2011, Crawlability, Inc.
TauOnline.org is completely unofficial and is in no way endorsed by Games Workshop Limited.


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366