Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

FOF question
Reply
Old 15 Apr 2007, 00:16   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 149
Default FOF question

i was just recently playing against a friend of my brothers, who loves 40k but hardly every played against tau, eldar, or any other skimmer heavy army before.

any way during the game i use the universally known FOF tactic to wipe out some of his orcs and he freaks out and thinks I'm cheating since hes never seen it before. i break out the rule book and show him skimmers don't block line of sight, how i can move the devil fish 12- away disembark my fire warriors and fire pulse rifles twice in a single turn, and i show him the entire idea behind FOF and how it keeps my fire warriors safe from close combat.

all of a sudden his view of me changes from cheater to inspiration. he was planing on starting a new army since the orcs weren't cutting it for him. he starts asking all sorts of questions about skimmers and the tau. and then he asks me if units behind a skimmer get a 4+ cover save that vehicles give? and i say "uhhhhhhhhh........?"

do they? ???
cruton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Apr 2007, 00:43   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 959
Default Re: FOF question

Nope! The skimmer doesn't block line of site at all... no cover for him or for you.
__________________
Peace through Superior Firepower! =^.^=
KCKitsune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Apr 2007, 03:04   #3 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Where I am, California, US
Posts: 2,828
Default Re: FOF question

Oh no. He's getting your armor save confused with a cover save. It gives them no cover, it just demands an annoying target priority test and assault protection.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by The All-father on me
Oh, dear...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Why So Serious?
Dark Ace Cypher with the power of cliffing!
[quote=TheCuriousMonke]
[b]"You must bake muffins for the Greater Good."[/
Ace cipher zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Apr 2007, 04:44   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 149
Default Re: FOF question

are you sure? I've always used FOF without any cover save (as i have always thought it was) but now that i look into it, FOF may give a cover save. according to 40k rulebook " WHAT COUNTS AS COVER? Cover is basically anything you can hide in or behind." fences, railings, and tall grass offers a 6+ cover save and you can't completely hide behind most of them.

it doesn't say it needs to block line of sight or anything. i think it makes a little sense that it would offer a cover save. instead of shooting over debris to hit the target you need to shoot under the skimmer. it adds to the reason why it helps prevent assaults a little bit.

it doesn't exactly say yes or no any where so I'm not sure. according to 40K rule book vehicles offer a 4+ cover save just like wrecks, buildings, craters, and trenches. it seems possible, then again i may be horribly wrong.
(the way this guy asked about it, it just sounded so reasonable :huh: )
cruton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Apr 2007, 05:01   #5 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 76
Default Re: FOF question

Actually i think the "You can't move underneath the skimmer yet you can shoot under it" is justified by:

"Ok hammerhead 2, LAND, NOW!" *Crunch* Goooodbye assault terminators....
__________________
There's never a right time, a right time to say goodbye
Def3nd3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Apr 2007, 12:25   #6 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Somewhereshire
Posts: 6,214
Send a message via MSN to Ravager
Default Re: FOF question

Skimmers won't provide cover as they float too high and move to fast (fluff-wise rather than gamewise).
The only time a vehicle provides a cover save is when it has become a wreck, in which case it counts as size 3, LOS blocking, 4+ save area terrain.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by CmdrBonesaw
"Drop the shovel, and stand back from the keyboard!"


We have done the impossible... and that makes us mighty.
Firefly is pretty much made of Awesome, Funny, and Aww. Sometimes simultaneously. We'd better stop before we quote the entire script.
–tvtropes.org
Ravager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Apr 2007, 15:37   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fenton, MI
Posts: 1,151
Default Re: FOF question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ravager Zero
The only time a vehicle provides a cover save is when it has become a wreck, in which case it counts as size 3, LOS blocking, 4+ save area terrain.
Wrecked vehicles are not area terrain. And therefore they don't have a size classification. A wrecked Rhino is functionally equivalent (in game terms) to a rhino shaped rock. It confers a 4+ cover save to models looking above or around it. It's difficult terrain to infantry and dangerous terrain to vehicles. But infantry can't "enter" a Rhino wreck any more than they can "enter" a large rock. They can however climb up onto it and move around on top of it (but will need to take a difficult terrain test to do so).
__________________
"i like to think of playing against my list as being like punching jelly. you put all your effort in but it just moves out of the way and you cause no damage. then your arm is covered in jelly. and the chicks come out and start wrestling in the jelly, and i drink a beer with stone cold steve austin, and we watch the chicks jelly wrestling, and then the slap-bass funk starts wakka chakka wakka wakka woh" -- Spooky, describing Mech Tau

"You can of course make a list that attempts to work via fragility and easy VP donation and Pathfinders fit into that just fine." -- kai
T0nkaTruckDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Apr 2007, 18:19   #8 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: FOF question

For clarity, models standing on top of a wreck do get a 4+ cover save.
khanaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Apr 2007, 19:32   #9 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kansas City area
Posts: 9
Default Re: FOF question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ravager Zero
The only time a vehicle provides a cover save is when it has become a wreck,
Or when they land, hence why it specifically states that Dfish, Hheads, and Sky Rays have landing gear.
__________________
Rules from 7 Habits of Highly Effective Pirates
13: Do unto others.
16: Your name is in the mouth of others: be sure it has teeth.
27: Don't be afraid to be the first to resort to violence.
29: Enemy of my enemy is my enemy's enemy, no more, no less.
35: That which does not kill you has made a tactical error.
36: When the going gets tough, the tough call for close air support.
37: There is no “overkill”. There is only “open fire” and “I need to reload”.
usagi_tetsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 Apr 2007, 20:01   #10 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Where I am, California, US
Posts: 2,828
Default Re: FOF question

When they land, don't they just block LOS, like any other tank, etc.?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by The All-father on me
Oh, dear...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Why So Serious?
Dark Ace Cypher with the power of cliffing!
[quote=TheCuriousMonke]
[b]"You must bake muffins for the Greater Good."[/
Ace cipher zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tzeentch Lord Question and Daemone weapon question. majonga Forces of Chaos 2 12 Apr 2008 01:32
Rules Question. (possible noob question) TheLetterV Tau 8 23 Dec 2006 00:34