Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Fusion Blaster Tactics
Closed Thread
Old 10 Feb 2005, 21:08   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper

Default Fusion Blaster Tactics

I'm new to the Tau, and think I have a pretty good grasp on how to take out space marines, with ion cannons, plasma rifles, and the fusion blaster. However, I have been having trouble trying to fully utilize the fusion blaster, as within the next turn I become assaulted by the space marines. Any tips? Should I cut down on fusion blasters against space marines (each of my crisis suits has a plasma rifle, fusion blaster, and multi tracker)? Also, I thought another good idea would be to play offensive and use the fish of fury to block my crisis suits. Thanks.
Old 10 Feb 2005, 21:16   #2 (permalink)
Shas'La

Default Re: Fusion Blaster Tactics

While FoF will protect your suits from assault, they can still get shot, and that's the bigger problem with suits in the open: the long range missile/lascannon shot.

The real answer is to not take fusion blasters. Use missile pods instead, as they will allow you to stay out of charge-range while firing with both weapons. When the enemy is almost destroyed, you can pop in to finish him off up-close with the rapid-firing plasma gun.

Fusion blasters are neat weapons and all, but their lack of range and poor rate of fire make them a less effective and less versitile option than missiles and/or plasma.
Old 10 Feb 2005, 21:19   #3 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper

yeah, but i need someway to pierce that space marine armour...
Old 10 Feb 2005, 21:22   #4 (permalink)
Shas'Saal