Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

Tau without Kroot? Tau Mega Force?
Old 20 Mar 2007, 13:50   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default Tau without Kroot? Tau Mega Force?

Hi everybody!

I'm new to WH40k and think about starting a Tau Army - simply because I like their model style most. Unfortunatly, I don't like the Kroot models at all.
So, first question: Is it possible to play Tau without using any Kroots?

Next question: The Tau Mega Force* seems like a good way to start a Tau army and save some money, and (hooray!) it doesn't contain any Kroot. So, my second question to the experienced players: How useful is the combination of units in the MegaForce box? Is it a solid base for building a Tau army, or would you advice against it?

Thanks in advance for your help!
(When answering, please consider that I am more of a casual player. I don't need to have the Über-Army, and I won't have a big army anytime soon. I just want a nice little working army which I enjoy painting and playing every now and then.)

*http://uk.games-workshop.com/storefr...014&orignav=10
MaybeTau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 Mar 2007, 14:03   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O

Default Re: Tau without Kroot? Tau Mega Force?

It is indeed perfectly reasonable and possible to play Tau without using any kroot at all. I however wouldn't want to, but that's only because I love the freaky aliens!

The megaforce is a great starting point, its a whole army in a box.

Lets take a quick look at what you get with some very approximate point values

2 Crisis suits (1 can be a commander)
Commander - ~100 points
Crisis suit - ~ 65 points
3 Stealth suits - ~90 points
20 Firewarriors - ~220 points
Devilfish - ~ 100 points
3 Piranhas - ~210 points
Hammerhead - ~ 180 points

Total: 965

So basically if you get that box with very little modification you have a fairly strong core of a 1000 point force.

Quote: