Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Stealth Team question...
Reply
Old 17 Mar 2007, 00:15   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winterpeg
Posts: 41
Default Stealth Team question...

Hi all, quick question for you...

The Stealth Team says that "one in three models (including the Team Leader or Shas'vre)" may be upgraded to have a fusion blaster. Does that mean the team leader himself may have one, or is this simply saying that you include them in the count of three models?

I ask because on page 24, under the "Character:" section, it states that upgrade characters cannot take the squad's options. Is the stealth team an exception to this? Thanks.
__________________
Commander Lightbringer
Sa'cea Sept
AKA John Russell
Commander Lightbringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Mar 2007, 00:22   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,006
Default Re: Stealth Team question...

I would assume that yes you can give him a fusion blaster but he would count as one of the three maximum that you can give one to.
__________________
Life isn't meant to be anything, its what you make of it.

"Sometimes, I'm embarrassed to be your friend..."
Shas O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Mar 2007, 01:24   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 229
Default Re: Stealth Team question...

Well, by the book, you seem to be right. The "(including the team leader)" likely only refers to the total number of models in the squad, so a minimum team of 3 would be allowed to take one.

It's kinda weird though, since generally it's the team leader who gets the less common guns. Even Dark Crusade has XV25 leaders using fusion blasters. *shrug* Oh well. It's not like it mattered that often anyway ...
__________________

Arctic Lancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Mar 2007, 01:27   #4 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
The Orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,208
Default Re: Stealth Team question...

Yes, the team leader can take a FB.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raksha
but he would count as one of the three maximum that you can give one to.
???, are you saying the team can take up to 3 FBs? Because that's not correct.
__________________
The Orange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Mar 2007, 02:10   #5 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winterpeg
Posts: 41
Default Re: Stealth Team question...

I would seem to make sense that he can... because the "characters" section forbids it, but they make mention of it in the unit entry, so that would "override" the general rule.

I was just worried, since the wording is slightly ambigous... I just finished switching up the weapon on my Team Leader, and was a bit panicked at the thought of having to rip his weapon off for a second time.

That being said, if you have a squad of three, you can buy one Fusion Blaster, and if it's squad of six, you can buy two... but what about squads of four or five? Can the "one in three models" mean that model #1 has a FB, models #2 and 3 a burst cannon (that's one set of three) and model #4 has a FB (because he also forms a set of three with models #2 and 3, and is techically "one of three" models)?

I don't think this is correct... I know with the Space Wolves, they round up their squad sizes for the number of power weapons they are allowed, so I was wondering if this was the same.
__________________
Commander Lightbringer
Sa'cea Sept
AKA John Russell
Commander Lightbringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Mar 2007, 04:08   #6 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 17
Default Re: Stealth Team question...

It says "for every 3 models" not "for every three models (or fraction thereof)" or "for every combination of three models". That means for every Fusion Blaster XV-25, you must also have a minimum of 2 unique Burst Cannon XV-25s.
Sabrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Mar 2007, 19:02   #7 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Stealth Team question...

Right. This one seems pretty straightforward. You can take a Fusion Blaster for every three Stealthsuits in the unit, and you can upgrade one to a Team Leader. It is entirely up to you whether the Team Leader has it or a regular squaddie has it.
khanaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Mar 2007, 22:56   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lynnwood
Posts: 819
Send a message via MSN to Damian_Alpha
Default Re: Stealth Team question...

Take four. Because that last suit falls into what would be the second set of three, you could have two fusion blasters and two burst cannons...I think. o.o
__________________
"I have exactly one-hundred men under my command counting on ME to lead that charge, you two-bit mechanic. I have five seige tanks, eight APC's, an artillery platform and a light mech that need resupply and repair by dusk. I need remote mines set, trenches dug, and my men fed and rested, or those Marines are going to be using us for toothpicks. Get it done, Fio'vre." Officer Sherwin Jackson, 13th Dal'yth Company, to Fio'vre D'nan

"Feed well, my Bretheren. You are what you eat, and we have devoured the mighty." Master Shaper Korl Muur
Damian_Alpha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 Mar 2007, 22:59   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 573
Default Re: Stealth Team question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Damian_Alpha
Take four. Because that last suit falls into what would be the second set of three, you could have two fusion blasters and two burst cannons...I think. o.o
wrong you must take 6 if you want two fusion blasters one for every three models.

Rapouc
__________________


Dark Vault Games for quality service at a minimum discount of 10% off GW prices. Free Delivery on orders over 50! Great Service , I highly recommend them.
Rapouc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 Mar 2007, 00:14   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lynnwood
Posts: 819
Send a message via MSN to Damian_Alpha
Default Re: Stealth Team question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rapouc
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damian_Alpha
Take four. Because that last suit falls into what would be the second set of three, you could have two fusion blasters and two burst cannons...I think. o.o
wrong you must take 6 if you want two fusion blasters one for every three models.

Rapouc
Really? You're sure, not even with 5, it has to be a full six to get the second?

I've never had any problems with it during my games. Usually I only run 4-5 suits, just for efficiency's sake, and no one has ever told me this, not even GW staff. If you could tell me where I could check that, I would appreciate that.
__________________
"I have exactly one-hundred men under my command counting on ME to lead that charge, you two-bit mechanic. I have five seige tanks, eight APC's, an artillery platform and a light mech that need resupply and repair by dusk. I need remote mines set, trenches dug, and my men fed and rested, or those Marines are going to be using us for toothpicks. Get it done, Fio'vre." Officer Sherwin Jackson, 13th Dal'yth Company, to Fio'vre D'nan

"Feed well, my Bretheren. You are what you eat, and we have devoured the mighty." Master Shaper Korl Muur
Damian_Alpha is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stealth Team Rule Question SeanW Tau 4 05 Jan 2010 03:47
Tau stealth team question:Help Wanted! TauWarrior40k Tau 22 19 Jul 2009 00:59
OK got a stealth team...now what Shaso Wanax Tau 15 28 Jul 2005 20:35
New Tau Stealth Team 42 Painting 33 17 Apr 2005 00:45