Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

plain request for help
Closed Thread
Old 06 Feb 2005, 23:35   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal

Default plain request for help

ok, plain request for help here. i'm new to tau and a bit rusty playing 40k. read the codex and gw website before starting abd descided on a frontier force. so i'm wanting a bit of an adaptable force made up of fire warriors, kroot, human aux and a couple of machines. i haven't had to make up an army list in years and could do with a hand, especially with some of the tau equiptment. what i want is basic units that are very different but with very similar points values so i can mix and match to suit the enemy. so question 1, what's a good points value for an average unit?
this is what i've got so far, so any suggestions would be more than welcome.

shas'o crisis suit (missiles, plasma rifle and drone controller and 2 drones) 125pts
bonded fire team (shas'ui and photon grenades) 163pts
humanauxiliaries (gue'vesa'ui) 82pts
kroot carnivors (shaper, 3 hounds) 151pts
also going to have a pathfinder team with the markerlights, but not added them yet. might do a bit of fiddling to get the units more evenly matched pts wise, but i think you get the point.
so does anyone have any ideas?
Old 06 Feb 2005, 23:57   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Vre

Default Re: plain request for help

How many points are you planning on playing. Is there a limit for you? 500pt, 750, 1000, or 1500.

There are a few very good 500 and 750 pt armies on the older boards. I am using a 750 pt army for now and rocks.

As far as I have read don't use the shaper and hounds points can be better spent, unless you are going for some theme.

Plus the KNOW YOUR SELF and other stuff in the Tau Section are a MUST read, I have personally printed then and reread several times.
Eldar Blog http://forums.tauonline.org/index.php?topic=59588.0
My Non-Breaking Flying base for http://forums.tauonline.org/index.php?topic=59730.0