Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Question on FOF
Reply
Old 13 Mar 2007, 13:59   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 516
Send a message via AIM to kaskal
Default Question on FOF

Excuse me for being ignorant of the rules but if a full fire warrior team preforms the FOF do they get to rapid fire 24 shots or are they only allowed to fire 12 shots within 12'' for counting as moving.

again sorry for the lack of rule knowledge.
__________________
kaskal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Mar 2007, 14:01   #2 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,096
Default Re: Question on FOF

The rules for rapid fire weapons are pretty straight forward.

If you don't move you may shoot once at maximum range.

At any time you may fire 2 shots at 12", even if you moved.

You cannot assault after firing rapid fire weapons.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by heliodorus04
Falstead, you're a genius!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farseer_Emlyn
Gah! Not a silly Canadian. Can't Falstead ever be wrong?!?!? ;D
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafe (Autarch Kiardras)
My god.... the sarcasm there nearly shorted out my computer screen Nice.
Falstead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Mar 2007, 14:15   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Washington
Posts: 671
Send a message via AIM to Rogue_FireWarrior
Default Re: Question on FOF

Quote:
Originally Posted by Falstead
snip:
You cannot assault after firing rapid fire weapons.
The only exception to this part of the rule would be tau battle suits due to their jetpacks.
__________________

wins:21 Draws:9 Losses:8
[/img]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farseer_Emlyn (working on campaign)
They may be laughing at your red paint jobs or bat-eared grots when you deploy, but after loosing a few units to "da green horde" they'll learn to take your sonz of funguz seriously.
Rogue_FireWarrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Mar 2007, 16:41   #4 (permalink)
Ethereal
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18,087
Default Re: Question on FOF

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaskal
Excuse me for being ignorant of the rules but if a full fire warrior team preforms the FOF do they get to rapid fire 24 shots or are they only allowed to fire 12 shots within 12'' for counting as moving.

again sorry for the lack of rule knowledge.
This would be under the 3rd-edition version of Rapid Fire. Fire Warriors performing a FoF should get the full 24 shots.
khanaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 Mar 2007, 23:23   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 903
Send a message via AIM to AvalonSurfer739
Default Re: Question on FOF

I asked this same question when i first started. If you have a rulebook the rules will be in there but basically you can always rapid fire twice up to 12" Regardless to whether you have moved or not.

Moving only affects shooting above 12"
__________________


-Made by the awsome Photoshoper TchicoriTa
AvalonSurfer739 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Mar 2007, 00:19   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Island Republic of FreedomLand
Posts: 1,720
Default Re: Question on FOF

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogue_FireWarrior
Quote:
Originally Posted by Falstead
snip:
You cannot assault after firing rapid fire weapons.
The only exception to this part of the rule would be tau battle suits due to their jetpacks.
Not true to my knowledge. Tau suits cannot assault, but they CAN do the extra movement in the assault phase (but it can't be used to actually assault...this was cleared up in the 3rd ed. FAQ, not mentioned in the 4th ed. FAQ).
__________________
Just a fox, a whisper.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dra'Tuisich-Novae
D10s all the way. For honour! For glory! For non-repeating roll-probability percentages!
FOXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Mar 2007, 00:49   #7 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
The Orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,208
Default Re: Question on FOF

Quote:
Originally Posted by FOXX
Not true to my knowledge. Tau suits cannot assault, but they CAN do the extra movement in the assault phase (but it can't be used to actually assault...this was cleared up in the 3rd ed. FAQ, not mentioned in the 4th ed. FAQ).
You might want to re-read pg 55 of the BGB if that's what you think. Specifically the very last line on the page.
__________________
The Orange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Mar 2007, 03:54   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Island Republic of FreedomLand
Posts: 1,720
Default Re: Question on FOF

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Orange
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOXX
Not true to my knowledge. Tau suits cannot assault, but they CAN do the extra movement in the assault phase (but it can't be used to actually assault...this was cleared up in the 3rd ed. FAQ, not mentioned in the 4th ed. FAQ).
You might want to re-read pg 55 of the BGB if that's what you think. Specifically the very last line on the page.
Be more than happy to at the end of this week hopefully. You *could* always just say whether it's right or wrong though explicitly without saying what's there.

But if you could just move around in the assault phase there'd be no point to the assault move, hence my assumption on 4th Ed. rules. If there's an equivalent rule in the 3rd. Ed. book I've got that on hand.
__________________
Just a fox, a whisper.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dra'Tuisich-Novae
D10s all the way. For honour! For glory! For non-repeating roll-probability percentages!
FOXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Mar 2007, 04:13   #9 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
The Orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,208
Default Re: Question on FOF

Well since your away from your BGB, I'll be kind, . Crisis suits can JSJ with rapid fire weapons, and still assault. I was refering to the Jet Pack entry in the BGB. IIRC, thier's a similar rule in the Old Tau Codex, since that was the first time Jet Packs were introduced in 3rd edition.
__________________
The Orange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 Mar 2007, 14:49   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Island Republic of FreedomLand
Posts: 1,720
Default Re: Question on FOF

Hmm, that's interesting. Now just to be clear they can only assault what they shot at, right? No shooting a different target then assaulting something else?
__________________
Just a fox, a whisper.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dra'Tuisich-Novae
D10s all the way. For honour! For glory! For non-repeating roll-probability percentages!
FOXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tzeentch Lord Question and Daemone weapon question. majonga Forces of Chaos 2 12 Apr 2008 00:32
Rules Question. (possible noob question) TheLetterV Tau 8 22 Dec 2006 23:34