Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

would this hold?
Closed Thread
Old 21 Jan 2005, 20:11   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper

Default would this hold?

Hello, i'm new to Tau, right now in posession of only a Commander and a team of fire warriors. as i was thinking about possible reinforcements my first thought was quite obvious: "get a battleforce". but then i just thought about something like this:

First, get a devilfish+8fw
Second, get a hammerhead
Then, get another fish and fw
Then some Stealth Battlesuits,
and lastly, get myself a third devilfish+fire warriors set.

This should leave me with three full squads of fw, a really cool-looking tank leasurly lobbing submunitions into enemy ranks, an annoying team of sneaky harassers and three devilfishes for added mobility, also ready to be manned with a jolly team of AP "any space marines here?" 3 weapons carrying pathfinders later.

Now, the question abounds: i guess building an army in such a custom manner promises more fun than simply getting myself a set battleforce, but since i'd have to live without some plasma-spitting fireknives for quite some time, do you think such a force would hold its own against Ultramarines and Speed Freeks i expect to be playing?

[sub]"If your foe can come close enough to negate your striking power, all strategem is lost, and when all strategem is lost, the battle is lost."[/sub]

- Caboose, an alien
Old 21 Jan 2005, 20:54   #2 (permalink)
Ethereal

Default Re: would this hold?

I like Fire Knives against Terminators, but a good solid (and mobile) core of FW seems to be the most effective weapon against basic marines. If your opponents are vehicle-light, consider using the Ion Cannon on the Hammerhead. You might consider adding some more heavy units (Broadsides, probably) if you are seeing a lot of heavier vehicles.
Old 21 Jan 2005, 20:58   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Ui