Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

possible use for drones?
Closed Thread
Old 21 Jan 2005, 00:54   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Vre

Default possible use for drones?

im new to the rules (and the game for that matter), so ill run this 'tactic' by here:

first a lil background: the guy im playing mostly is a Speed Freak (shudder) and im having real trouble keepin him outta my face. so one possible solution is as follows:

when orks are within say 25" (wartrukk+move+assault rang.. SHEESH!) ill arrange my fire warrios like so:

+ +
+ +
+ + o o
+ +
+ +

.. the point being that the orcs would have to engage the frontmost drone, and the only ENGAGED units would be the drones themselves.. the warriors would be locked, but cant take any wounds from the combat.

anyway, the drones get slaughtered, the orcs win combat, the orcs consolidate 3" towards the rest of my guys... falling 1" SHORT.....

does this mean im now out of combat, and free to back up and 'double tap' them (maybe local lingo i dunno, but i like it.. >)?

my only confusion is the 'pile in move... would i HAVE to pile in? i hope not!

anyways, i could always fail a morale check for losing combat (reread sweeping advance.. they CANT sweeping adbvance if not in B2B contact...

anyways im open to thoughts/opinions...
Old 21 Jan 2005, 01:34   #2 (permalink)
Shas'Ui

Default Re: possible use for drones?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Calaban
.. the point being that the orcs would have to engage the frontmost drone, and the only ENGAGED units would be the drones themselves.. the warriors would be locked, but cant take any wounds from the combat.