Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

Warhammer 40K Forum

I am starting out
Closed Thread
Old 20 Jan 2005, 02:40   #1 (permalink)
Kroot Warrior

Default I am starting out

I am new to Tau. I have never fought or played Tau before. I am experience in 40K with a large CSM Khorne army.

I am just now starting to buy my new Tau army now. My friends an I usually play 1000pt - 1500 pt games but also starting to do a lot of 500pt 40k in a flash games. I still have not bought a Tau codex cause I am over seas right now but will be home in a couple weeks. I started to order a few things so they will be at my house by the time I get home so I can get started. I do have a games workshop about 15 miles from my house so adding to my army will be easy. There are a couple things I need to know. I will contiue to read everyones input cause so far it has been a great help.

Armies that I will be fighting: Iron Warriors, Tyranids, Daemon Hunters, Dark Eldar, and Imperial guard. My friend is building a secret army right now so not sure what he is getting.

What I plan on getting first:
24 Fire warriors
3 Broadsides
6 Crisis
1 Hammerhead
6 Stealth suits
2 Devilfish
unknown amount of Drones probably 10
Going to stay away from Kroot at this time

I will add later on:
24 more fire warriors

Main focus to start with: 500pt games (40k in a flash) as this will be the main focus of games for a while
I would like to know some good setups for these smaller games.
What works best against Tyranids
Some good do not do's
Is what I am planning to buy a good start or should I look on adding something else to my army before my deployment of them.

Thanks for any input cause I really hope to shock my friends and I know with Tau being so different than my Khorne army that I can not form my main battle plans on assult.

From what I have read it looks like the pathfinders are not that good... am I right or should I add them to my armies ranks?