Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Rules Question. (possible noob question)
Closed Thread
Old 21 Dec 2006, 17:05   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 129
Default Rules Question. (possible noob question)

I know there has been some recent threads on the efficiency of three weapon systems on crisis suits.

However, after reading the codex last night (for the 4000th time) I noticed on page 53 at the bottom right it says:

Battlesuits can be equipped with two weapon systems and one support system.

This, to me, means three weapon systems CANNOT by any means be equipped to the same XV8.

Am I missing something?
__________________
With great knowledge, comes a great responsibility to use it for evil.
TheLetterV is offline  
Old 21 Dec 2006, 17:06   #2 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 48
Default Re: Rules Question. (possible noob question)

That was a mistake, The FAQ says to just ignore it
__________________
"There Are No Stupid Questions, Only Stupid People"
Sootyuk is offline  
Old 21 Dec 2006, 17:12   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 129
Default Re: Rules Question. (possible noob question)

Thanks. I thought I was going crazy. It was getting worse, because I started going through the book and online and couldn't find a single picture of GW's that had a crisis with three weapon systems on it.

I love this forum

__________________
With great knowledge, comes a great responsibility to use it for evil.
TheLetterV is offline  
Old 21 Dec 2006, 17:28   #4 (permalink)
Kroot Shaper
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 99
Default Re: Rules Question. (possible noob question)

Simple mistake ;D
__________________
Many years of practice and experience has narrowed my entire game stratigy down to this!!! (Broadside+Railgun=Me winning)
WH40K@1 is offline  
Old 21 Dec 2006, 17:37   #5 (permalink)
Shas'O
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Is the Politiburo smoking weed?
Posts: 5,144
Default Re: Rules Question. (possible noob question)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheLetterV
Battlesuits can be equipped with two weapon systems and one support system.
Emphasis on the can, not meaning to the exclusion of all else. So a battlesuit can take two weapons and a support system. Not a battlesuit must take two weapons and a support system.

Ignore it you can have three weapons.

Genmotty
Genmotty is offline  
Old 21 Dec 2006, 23:47   #6 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 104
Default Re: Rules Question. (possible noob question)

Talking further on this issue of some errors in the Codex about equipment units has, on pages 62-63 is a army list presentend as an example.

There is a Broadside squad of two broadsides. One of the two has no supporting system, which is not correct: a broadside must take one supporting system.

One other thing which is less clear to me is as follows: if a stealth suit teamleader/ shas'vre takes an supporting system, does the rest of the squad members have to take a supporing system? Because in the description it is stated that if one team member does, then all members must take a supporting system. But in the army list there is a shas'vre with a drone-controller (which is not hard-wired) but the rest of the team members don't have supporting systems. Mind you I am not talking about wargear (hard-wired systems): those are only available to the teamleaders/ shas'vre. Personnally I think this is another error in the Codex and should the other members have taken a support system as well since the shas'vre/ teamleader is a team member as well. But it just got me a bit confused...
PiCov is offline  
Old 22 Dec 2006, 00:53   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 620
Default Re: Rules Question. (possible noob question)

Ooooh pick me I can help! Alright where's my codex? There it is! Ok you're right about the Broadside thing, and the stealths. Guys at 'Eavy metal probably had to paint the models before the codex was finished, and the codex most likely had a few things changed before they sold the book with the pictures in it. Sorry for shoddy explanation, but from is understandable do you know what I mean?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Circus
Dogs think they're human. Cats think they're God.
ChiliFriez is offline  
Old 22 Dec 2006, 15:46   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 104
Default Re: Rules Question. (possible noob question)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChiliFriez
Sorry for shoddy explanation, but from is understandable do you know what I mean?
I think so, I will just consider it as a mistake in the Codex...same as the unclearity mentioned by TheLetterV.
PiCov is offline  
Old 23 Dec 2006, 00:34   #9 (permalink)
Shas'Vre
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: Rules Question. (possible noob question)

it also says stealthsuits can be equiped with one weapon and one support but they can just take the weapon
Korill is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Noob Question epc-Felix Space Marines 12 08 May 2010 18:36
A noob question NuclearExchange General 40K 11 08 Aug 2007 13:13
noob question HydassSurvivor Tau 1 04 Jun 2005 21:35
noob question wera General 40K 6 06 May 2005 18:43