Tau Empire Codex 2013 | Army Builder Program
Dark Angels Codex 2013
Chaos Daemons Codex 2013
Chaos Space Marines Codex 2012

Warhammer 40k Forum Tau Online

 

Warhammer 40K Forum

Markerlight questions. NEW QUESTIONS!
Closed Thread
Old 05 Dec 2006, 21:37   #1 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 565
Send a message via MSN to The_Greater_Good
Default Markerlight questions. NEW QUESTIONS!

Question #1: If you give a Fire Warrior squads Shas'ui a Markerlight, is that for him or does it benefit his entire squad?

Question #2: A Pathfinder squad has six members, can you shoot these at seperate targets, or must all six be on one target?

Question #3: Can more than one squad use the same Markerlight?
__________________
If you find a spelling or grammatical error in one of my posts, message me, I will give you a cookie.

If you need help with a Tau army list, go ahead and pm me, always willing to help.
The_Greater_Good is offline  
Old 05 Dec 2006, 21:44   #2 (permalink)
Shas'El
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,997
Default Re: Markerlight questions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Greater_Good
Question #1: If you give a Fire Warrior squads Shas'ui a Markerlight, is that for him or does it benefit his entire squad?
No. Only network MLs can benifit the same squad.
Quote:
Question #2: A Pathfinder squad has six members, can you shoot these at seperate targets, or must all six be on one target?
No (again). Squad shooting rules still apply to MLs. If a Shas'ui has a TL, than he may fire at a seperate target.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wargamer
Aha, a brilliant point Impulse!
Impulse is offline  
Old 05 Dec 2006, 22:09   #3 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 229
Default Re: Markerlight questions.

Quote:
Quote from: The_Greater_Good on Today at 02:37:24 PM
Question #1: If you give a Fire Warrior squads Shas'ui a Markerlight, is that for him or does it benefit his entire squad?

No. Only network MLs can benifit the same squad.
I don't think that's what he meant. Then again ...
Regardless, if you're asking if they all get markerlights, then no. Only the team leader does.

Consider clarifying that question?
__________________

Arctic Lancer is offline  
Old 06 Dec 2006, 00:42   #4 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Posts: 445
Default Re: Markerlight questions.

I'm pretty sure that only the Shas'ui gets the markerlight. And that, not being networked, it can only benefit other units after he shoots it (and assuming he lands a hit).

Situation:

The Shas'la fire at a unit of (meh, who do I not like, oh, yeah, definitely --&gt Necrons, the Shas'ui using his markerlight. Note that because the squads shooting must be done all at the same time, the Shas'ui's squad can't benefit from the markerlight hit, nor can it be used to change anything like leadership for pinning or reducing cover saves, as the markers must be expended at the beginning of the shooting. However, I could proceed to use that hit for anything I want afterwards: I could use it to launch a seeker missile, add BS to another squad, or reduce their cover save in preparation for a submunition.

Oh yeah, and you owe me a cookie.

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Greater_Good
Question #1: If you give a Fire Warrior squads Shas'ui a Markerlight, is that for him or does it benefit his entire squad?

Question #2: A Pathfinder squad has six members, can you shoot these at seperate targets, or must all six be on one target?
In question one, "squads" needs an apostrophe.
__________________
If you're feeling lucky, click here to get yourself mugged!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"No, you can't put a Lascannon there; the Machine God will have a tantrum and turn the universe inside out."

balistafreak is offline  
Old 06 Dec 2006, 00:51   #5 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 565
Send a message via MSN to The_Greater_Good
Default Re: Markerlight questions.

squad's = squad is, no it does not.
__________________
If you find a spelling or grammatical error in one of my posts, message me, I will give you a cookie.

If you need help with a Tau army list, go ahead and pm me, always willing to help.
The_Greater_Good is offline  
Old 06 Dec 2006, 00:58   #6 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Posts: 445
Default Re: Markerlight questions.

Erm... last time I checked, a " 's " at the end of a word can result in a contraction (squad is, like you said) but it also refers to possession. As in the Shas'ui belongs to the squad. (the squad's Shas'ui). Unless I've gone brain dead. ???
__________________
If you're feeling lucky, click here to get yourself mugged!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"No, you can't put a Lascannon there; the Machine God will have a tantrum and turn the universe inside out."

balistafreak is offline  
Old 06 Dec 2006, 01:01   #7 (permalink)
Shas'Saal
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kansas City, MO USA
Posts: 140
Default Re: Markerlight questions.

actually shouldn't it be squads' to show possession???
Silver Surfer is offline  
Old 06 Dec 2006, 01:22   #8 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 565
Send a message via MSN to The_Greater_Good
Default Re: Markerlight questions.

Back on topic... lol.
__________________
If you find a spelling or grammatical error in one of my posts, message me, I will give you a cookie.

If you need help with a Tau army list, go ahead and pm me, always willing to help.
The_Greater_Good is offline  
Old 06 Dec 2006, 01:24   #9 (permalink)
Shas'La
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Posts: 445
Default Re: Markerlight questions.

The part about "a squad" refers to one squad, therefore the apostrophe does go before the "s". And it IS needed.

Dang, school really does help. My teacher was right! ;D

And to be back on topic... I think I answered it, but I have my own questions. How are you supposed to model a markerlight onto a pulse rifle? Can you buy a multitracker and fire both?
__________________
If you're feeling lucky, click here to get yourself mugged!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Norman
"No, you can't put a Lascannon there; the Machine God will have a tantrum and turn the universe inside out."

balistafreak is offline  
Old 06 Dec 2006, 03:19   #10 (permalink)
Shas'Ui
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 565
Send a message via MSN to The_Greater_Good
Default Re: Markerlight questions.

New questions.
__________________
If you find a spelling or grammatical error in one of my posts, message me, I will give you a cookie.

If you need help with a Tau army list, go ahead and pm me, always willing to help.
The_Greater_Good is offline  
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Markerlight Questions Melon Master Tau 23 10 Oct 2008 04:07
Eldar FAQ and Rules Questions. Ask all Rules Questions HERE. sinfox Craftworld Eldar 181 30 Jul 2008 15:52
New to tau, Bunch of questions to help me before my first games, questions added Ekiel Tau 15 03 Jun 2008 01:05
2 questions D: Monolith Computers, Science and Technology 3 22 May 2008 05:18
Markerlight questions Diavolos1981 Tau 1 30 Apr 2007 19:34